Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

MUS528: Music Research in Archives: Archival Materials at UIUC

This guide will help you navigate Archon, the Sousa Archives' collection managment system.

Archival Materials at UIUC

The University Archives manages three distinct repositories with different collections grouped as follows:

University Archives 

The Univesity Archives contains records, publications, and faculty/alumni papers relating to the University and the Urbana-Champaign campus. It also holds major research resources such as the American Library Association Archives, the Advertising Council Archives, and the records of other professional societies.

Location: 

Room 19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL, 61801
Phone: 217-333-0798

Student Life and Culture Archives

The Student Life and Culture Archives collects, preserves, and makes available materials documenting student involvement in fraternities, sororities, student government, religious associations, publications, social events, athletics, and other activities that contribute to the total student experience in higher education and the student experience at the University of Illinois.

Location:

Archives Research Center
Room 105
1707 South Orchard
Urbana, IL, 61801
Phone: 217-333-7841

 
The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music 

The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music acquires and preserves significant archival records and historical artifacts in multiple media formats that document America's local and national music history and its diverse cultures.

Location: 

240 Harding Band Building
1103 S. Sixth Street
Champaign, IL 61821
Phone: 217-244-9309