African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The authors and works included in the collection show the huge variety of this relatively unexplored area of American literary history, including writers from all areas of the United States, with different backgrounds and poetry styles.

This database contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources. The entire text of each poem has been included. Any accompanying text written by the poet and forming an integral part of the poem, such as dedications, notes, arguments and epigraphs, is also generally included. The bibliographic basis of this database is the Bibliography of American literature (Yale University Press, 1955-1991).

Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. This online version contains the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-11), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's guide to poetry anthologies (2nd ed.), Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, Classic hundred poems, as well as new content not published previously in print

Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. The main bibliographic source is the New Cambridge bibliography of English literature, 1969-1977. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the world.

Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online. The database presents literary criticism on the works of poets of all nations, cultures, and time periods. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, diaries, newspapers, broadsheets, pamphlets, and scholarly papers.

Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

This database contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works. These include rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. It also includes book reviews and criticism related to this content.

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.