Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BUS 301

Database Matrix

Database Matrix

Sometimes it's challenging to choose a right database to start your search among so many available resources, and it's often hard to remember all features for various databases. This chart includes BIS subscribed key databases and their various features such as company overview, industry analysis, and market research reports, etc. Click on the database name to directly go to the database. You will need your NetID and password to login.

Database Company Overview International Companies Private Companies Company Financial Bond Information Ratios Investment Analysis Industry Analysis Country Reports Articles/ News Market Research Reports SWOT Analysis
BCC Research                  
Business Source Ultimate        
Capital IQ (GIES only)          
Emerging Markets Information Service          
Hoover's                    
IBISWorld & Procurement IQ (supplier data)   ✔ IBISWorld international includes companies in China only                
Refintiv
Workspace
       ✔        
Nexis Uni            
Technavio                  
PrivCo              
ProQuest One Business                

Databases for Consumer Industry Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on Food.

 

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on agriculture and food.

  • Type in the "Agriculture" in the first search box and then "Food" next to the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

Emerging Markets Information Service 

To find industry research information on agriculture: first click an "Industry"; then click on "Agriculture" tab; The relevant results will then be displayed.

 

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on food in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about agriculture and food, select "Food" under the drop-down menu of "Category."

 

Use the search box in the top center to start your search, and use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.

 

Frost & Sullivan Online

 

Frost & Sullivan Online offers full text access to the company's industry specific databases of marketing consulting information and analysis that are international in scope. It tracks, among others, the following industries: Healthcare, Telecom, IT, Transportation, Electronics and Semiconductors.

 


 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on food, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Agriculture.'

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on consumer electronics.

  • Type in the "Consumer Electronics" in the first search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

 

Emerging Markets Information Service 

To find industry research information on consumer electronics: first click an "Industry"; then click on "Consumer Electronics" tab; The relevant results will then be displayed.

 

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about consumer electronics, select "household" and "Electrical Goods" under the drop-down menu of "Category."

Passport

To search for industry information on consumer electronics, go to 'Industries' section; select 'Consumer Electronics.'

 

For database help, click here.

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on Consumer Goods.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on consumer goods.

  • Type in the "Consumer Goods" in the first search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

Emerging Markets Information Service 

To find industry research information on consumer goods: first click an "Industry"; then click on "Consumer Goods & Retail" tab; The relevant results will then be displayed.

 

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about consumer goods, select "Beauty & Personal Care" under the drop-down menu of "Category."

 

Mergent Online

To find industry information about consumer goods, use the "Industry analysis" window on the right side of the home page. You can look at the type of industry you are interested in, such as "Consumer Staples" and "Consumer Discretionary."

 

You can come to further search by selecting "Reports" to download the latest report or click "Historical Reports" to understand the trends of a particular industry.

 

 

Passport

To search for industry information on consumer goods, go to 'Industries' section; select 'Apparel and Footwear' or 'Beauty and Personal Care' or 'Personal Accessories'; choose either industry you are interested in.

 

 

For database help, click here.
 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on consumer goods, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Consumer Goods & FMCG.'

Technavio

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.

To search for the industry information on consumer staples, check "Consumer Staples" under the "All Industries" drop-down menu.

 

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on entertainment, recreation and sport.

  • Type in the "Entertainment" in the first search box, "Recreation" next to the search box, and "Sport" in the following box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

 

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on entertainment, recreation and sport in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Art, Entertainment & Recreation in the US," as shown below. 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about agriculture and entertainment, recreation and sport, select "Travel, Leisure & Entertainment" under the drop-down menu of "Category," and check "Leisure & Entertainment" and "Sport."

 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on entertainment, recreation and recreation, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Sport & Recreation.'

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on IoT.

  • Type in the "Internet" in the first search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

IDTechEx

www.idtechex.com

Includes company profiles, reports, webinars, research articles, brief forecasts, market sizing and company presentations on emerging technologies with a specialty in Internet of Things.   

To search for the report of IoT industry information, click the drop-down menu of "Products," then select the tab of "Reports," and choose "5G, 6G, RFLD & IoT."

 

 

 

Access is for Urbana, staff, faculty, and students currently enrolled.  Students in experiential learning teams are permitted to use the resource for analysis for their projects.   Authentication or credentialing is a two step process.  The link will require using the VPN server, then use one of 39 already designated "seats" or usernames/password to access. 

Those seats are as follows (example for the first 10 seats is pasted below).  Note: this is a screenshot and not clickable links. 

 

 

 For the remaining 29 seats, use the same web address but insert the next number (illinois11@idtechex.com ; for the password, insert the number after the word ill and before the exclamation mark !).   If you need further assistance, e-mail Becky Smith. 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on IoT, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Internet.'

 

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on information technology and telecommunication.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on agriculture and food.

  • Type in the "Information Technology" in the first search box and then "Telecommunication" next to the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

First Research Industry Profiles

To find the industry research information on food, click "Browser Industry Profiles," and select a type of industry in the list, such as "Technology & Communications," as shown below.

 

Gartner Research 

Gartner Research is one of the foremost authorities on high tech trends. It is a global research and advisory firm providing information, advice, and tools for leaders in IT, finance, HR, customer service and support, communications, legal and compliance, marketing, sales, and supply chain functions. 

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about Information technology and telecommunication, select "Technology & Media" under the drop-down menu of "Category," and check "Telecom."

 

 

Mergent Online

 

To find industry information about information technology and telecommunication, use the "Industry analysis" window on the right side of the home page. You can look at the type of industry you are interested in, such as "Technology" and "Telecommunications."

 

You can come to further search by selecting "Reports" to download the latest report or click "Historical Reports" to understand the trends of a particular industry.

 

 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on information and telecommunication, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Technology & Telecommunications.'

 

Technavio

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.

To search for the industry information on Information Technology, check "Information Technology" under the "All Industries" drop-down menu.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on retails and trade.

  • Type in the "Retail" in the first search box and then "Trade" next to the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on retail and trade in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Retail Trade in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about retails and trade, select "Retail & Apparel" under the drop-down menu of "Category."

 

 

Passport

To search for industry information on retails and trade, go to 'Industries' section; select 'Retailing.'

 

For database help, click here.

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on retails and trade, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Retail & Trade.'

BCC Research

Emerging Markets Information Service

IBISWorld

Mintel

Note: this is sole database that contains market research information and answers the question: who buys and why. 

Sports Market Analytics

Statista

Technavio

Procurement IQ

Gartner Academic

The Gartner Group is a research and advisory company focused on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies. It provides analysis to corporate, government, and higher education clients through a variety of media, including the Gartner Research website. This research and analysis can be used throughout the University for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices.     The University of Illinois has purchased access to Gartner Research's Core Research, which does not include their Dataquest documents nor special reports. 

To access Gartner Academic, go here.