Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership 310: Race and Cultural Diversity: Articles

A Guide to Library Resources for Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership 310

Suggested Databases

Finding Articles

Scholarly journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles through database searches.

Finding articles is a two-step process:

  • First, search for the topic you are interested in by using one of the article databases listed below. If you get stuck, ask your instructor or a librarian for help getting started.
  • Next, find the actual text of the articles you want by clicking on the full-text link or Discover button in a database. Many of our journals are online, but some of them are still available only in print. If the journal article you are looking for is not available electronically, you can use the Library Catalog to look up the location of the journal for which you have a citation.

OR

  • If you know the citation of the articles you want, from bibliographies or suggested readings lists, you can use  Journal and Article Locator to determine if we have full-text online or in print.

Searching Article Databases

Experiment with keywords to search article databases or the Library Catalog for more info.

  • Try words to describe your population group:    ________ Americans (“Greek Americans”, “Hispanic Americans”), Jewish diaspora, Latinx, etc.
  • Try different words to describe your topic: institutional racism, prejudice, systemic racism, educational inequality, achievement gap, etc.

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

Profile Photo
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Contact:
SSHEL (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Website