Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BADM 563 - Operations Strategy

Company Supply Chain Search Examples

 

Business Source Ultimate is a portal of articles, news, scholarly journals, and some market research reports.  .  Below are some suggested search strategies in using this database.    Click here if you wish to go on to search Business Source Ultimate.  

 

 

 

GM and Supply Chain Management

Open Business Source Ultimate (linked in this LibGuide as shown above).  Start with a general search for ‘General Motors’ with the 'CO Company Entity' field selected, and 'supply chain' in the second search box, shown below.  This returns many results, so we need to determine what will be helpful for our research.

To narrow the search results, adjust the publication date on the left-side column to only include 2019-2021 (see screenshot below).  Since we want more recent articles published in the last 2 years, this is how we can narrow the search results accordingly.  The example below shows our results list is now reduced to 22, more manageable and more applicable to our research aims.

Let's look at the second search result, shown below,  "Chaos in Supply Chain Won't Last, Top Nissan Supplier Says".  Notice the subject terms, shown below immediately under document type.  These terms (i.e. Supply chains, COVID-19 pandemic, Suppliers) are hyperlinked.  Clicking one will open a new search of the database, using only the subject term.  This can be an effective way to locate similar articles.

Once you have noted subject headings and/or author-supplied keywords, you can further limit your initial search by inputting a subject heading (ex. 'diversity in the workplace') and selecting 'SU Subject Terms' from the field selection drop-down box immediately to the right of the search box.  This can be done for subsequent search terms as well. 

Defining search limits in this way will sharpen your search results.  This method may also yield no results.  That's alright: try a different subject heading, or leave the field selection blank.  Often, relevant material may be categorized under a different subject heading.

Proquest One Business is a portal of articles, news (such as the Wall Street Journal and Business Insider), trade publications such as The Economist, scholarly journals, and some market research reports.    Below are some suggested search strategies in using this database.    Click here if you wish to go on to search Proquest One Business. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pfizer and Supply Chain Management

Below is an example of the search process using ProQuest One Business to find articles on Pfizer and supply chain management.

Open ProQuest One Business.  Start with a general search for ‘Pfizer "supply chain"’ with Newspapers selected from the options immediately above the search bar.  This search returns over 1,000 results, so we need to determine what will be helpful for our research.  We want to research Pfizer and supply chain management.  First, a basic search to begin exploring our problem:

To narrow the search results, adjust the publication date on the left-side column to only include November 2019-November 2021 (see screenshot below).  Since we want more recent articles published in the last 2 years, this is how we can narrow the search results accordingly.  This still leaves over 700 results.  Below publication date in the left-side column, locate the corporation heading (both shown below).  Select Pfizer Inc.  This now yields 341 results.

Depending on the country, publication title, and other search filters, the results may be further limited.  Below is one of the articles from the search now filtered to 341 results given the publication date range and the corporation.  This screenshot shows how ProQuest highlights every instance of search keywords, Pfizer and supply chain in this instance.  The first tab includes the full text of the article, while the second tab includes details about the article, such as hyperlinked subject terms (much like Business Source Ultimate) and NAICS codes, also hyperlinked and searchable in the same manner subject terms are.  It can be helpful to use these to locate other relevant articles.

Newspaper Resources

Some helpful newspaper databases include: Newspaper Source (an EBSCO database), Nexis Uni, and PressReader.  All of these can be accessed through the Library's A to Z databases page.  For more general article searches about the topic matter, use search terms (i.e. supply chain, supply chain management, logistics, disruption) and filter by publication date to see articles from the last two years.  We can also search by title and/or author if we are trying to locate the full text of an article.  Let's look at PressReader to locate the full text of a recent supply chain article.

LA Times and Supply Chain Challenges

The University Library has access to numerous current newspapers through PressReader.  

Below is an example of the search process using PressReader to find articles from the LA Times on recent supply chain issues at California ports.

From the PressReader homepage, we may be able to locate the newspaper we want under the Featured section.  If not, we can always search for it.  The screenshot below shows the search field populating options as 'Los Angeles Times' is entered.  In this case, we want to select the first option.

We want to locate an article about congestion at ports and supply chain issues published in the LA Times on November 10, 2021.  PressReader allows us to view the paper digitally as it appeared in print.  Below the current days' issue, locate the Latest Issues section.  Here you can find the most recent issues, in descending order.  Locate the November 10, 2021, edition.  PressReader defaults to Page View, however Text View may be easier for locating a specific article.  This and other filter options are available on the left-side column.  Scrolling through the paper, still on the front page of the paper, we quickly come to the article (pictured below) titled, "L.A.-area docks' logjam begins to ease as as carriers face hefty fines."

Additionally, PressReader's search accommodates keyword searching, such as for 'supply chain' or 'supply chain management'.  Utilizing this will return articles from across PressReader's collection matching the search terms.

When searching academic databases, if you come upon articles from newspapers with full text unavailable, it's a good idea to check PressReader, or another newspaper source through the University's Communications Library (https://www.library.illinois.edu/commedia/).

Popular Newspapers in Nexis Uni

Searching within a Publication in Nexis Uni

To search within the publication, such as the NYT, click on the NYT current file link above. Once you enter the database, you will see New York Times as the Source and a blank search box. In the blank search box, type in your company "supply chain" or your company "ports". See screenshot below.

Notice on the left navigation bar, there is a way to narrow your results. Timeline is the best way to narrow since the time period is from Jan 01, 2020 to present. Click on Timeline and it will prompt you to find dates, in which Custom Date Range is the most optimal choice.