How to Find Articles
The databases listed to the right are some of the best resources for this class. You can search them to find articles in peer reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
The University of Illinois subscribes to many, many online databases and resources, which are indexed in Online Journals and Databases, linked below, and can be searched by title or subject.
- A-Z Subject GuideUse the Library's Database by Subject Guide for more precise searching than you'll get in Google Scholar.
Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.
- Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Hospitality & Tourism Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Bibliographic database providing access to scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Combines the records of three collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database (previously unavailable for public use), Articles in hospitality and tourism, and the Lodging, restaurant & tourism index.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, rural & urban sociology, social structure, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, and many others.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a mixture of practical and theoretical business content including company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more.
Subject Guide
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801