Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Industry Research Information

This guide has been created for industry research

Market Research Profiles

  • Almost always include industry information, especially market share
  • Who purchases & why
  • How much spending
  • Sometimes geographic and/or demographic segments
  • Sometimes has trend information, especially in technology

Market Research Chart

Market Research and E-Commerce Databases

The chart below displays databases with market research reports in the business digital collection.  You will note many of them also contain industry trends. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication. 

Database Consumer Goods and Services Internet of Things Technology Social Media Trends Country Medical Devices Sports B2B Industrial
BCC Research        
Business Source Ultimate for Marketline Reports          
eMarketer        
Emerging Markets Information Services      
Gartner Academic          
Hoover's    
IBISWorld & Procurement IQ (supplier data)      
Mintel        
Passport Global Market Information Database  
Sports Market Analytics            

Statista

 

Technavio

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies.

IDTechEx

www.idtechex.com

Includes company profiles, reports, webinars, research articles, brief forecasts, market sizing and company presentations on emerging technologies with a specialty in Internet of Things.   Access is for Urbana, staff, faculty, and students currently enrolled.  Students in experiential learning teams are permitted to use the resource for analysis for their projects.   Authentication or credentialing is a two-step process.  The link will require using the VPN server and specifically logging in under the "TunnelAll" user group, then use one of 39 already designated "seats" or usernames/password to access. 

Those seats are as follows (example for the first 10 seats is pasted below).  Note: this is a screenshot and not clickable links. 

 

 

 For the remaining 29 seats, use the same web address but insert the next number (illinois11@idtechex.com ; for the password, insert the number after the word ill and before the exclamation mark !).   If you need further assistance, e-mail Becky Smith. 

 

 

 

 

Mintel Reports

Use the search box in the top center to start your search, and use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.

 

Passport

To locate market forecast, look under Economics (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Industries, Economics and Consumers by clicking on the appropriate option. The next step requires you to select among several countries

For database help, click here.
 

Technavio

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports. 

It has an extensive library of reports on hundreds of technologies. Search for a specific term, or click on an industry to browse our reports by subject. Narrow down your results using our filters or sort by what’s important to you, such as publication date, price, or name.