What is industry research?
Industry Research looks as the industry as a whole and answers these questions:
- Who are the key players/competitors?
- How much is consumed?
- What are the current trends and projections for the future?
- What does the industry produce? For whom?
B2B Industry Information Chart
B2B Industry Information Chart
Sometimes it's challenging to choose a right database to start your search among so many available resources, and it's often hard to remember all features for various databases. This chart includes 9 BIS subscribed key databases and a variety of B2B industry categories. Click on the database name to directly go to the database. You will need your NetID and password to login.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Agriculture & Food | Education | IoT | Information Technology & Telecommunication | Manufacturing | Professional Scientific & Technical Services | Transportation | Utilities |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCC Research | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ |
| Emerging Markets Information Service | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| Frost & Sullivan | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Gartner Research | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| IBISWorld | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||
| Statista | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Technavio | ✔ | ✔ |
B2B Databases
Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies.
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab. Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button
Look at this example search for information on the agriculture and food industries.
- Type in the "Agriculture" in the first search box and then "Food" in the box below it.
- Click the Search button on the screen.
Scroll down to search by NAICS/Industry Code.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
This resource delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.
To find industry research information on agriculture: first click the three horizontal lines on the left side of the page.
Click on "Markets."
Scroll down to "Agribusiness." 
This will give you a drop-down menu to select what you're specifically interested in.
Frost & Sullivan Online offers full text access to the company's industry specific databases of marketing consulting information and analysis that are international in scope. It tracks, among others, the following industries: Healthcare, Telecom, IT, Transportation, Electronics and Semiconductors.
The Gartner Group is a research and advisory company focused on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies. It provides analysis to corporate, government, and higher education clients through a variety of media, including the Gartner Research website. This research and analysis can be used throughout the University for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices.
When clicking on the link, this will take you to a U-iIlinois research page to access Garner by campus. Choose Urbana campus.
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
Here's an example about searching for the US Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing, and Hunting Industries.
Click Industries at the top of the page.
Select Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing, and Hunting from the drop down menu.
You will then see the US Industry Reports.
You can also search by industry name or NAICS code. Here's an example for the US soybean industry.
By name:
By NAICS code:
Both methods lead to the industry information page.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.
To search for industry information on food, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Agriculture.'
Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.
To search for the industry information on Information Technology, check "Information Technology" under the "All Industries" drop-down menu. You will need to scroll to find it.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
