Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 279: Mexican American History

Guide for finding resources to complete assignments for History 279

Finding Library Books

The online catalog is best for finding books held by the University Library or I-Share Libraries.

You can also request a book through the catalog by clicking "Get It" in the catalog record. Please see the University Library's COVID-19 Response page for up-to-date protocols.

Subject Searching

Why bother with subject headings in the online catalog when you can do keyword searching?

It’s true that you can find sources on a topic by doing keyword searches. But if you limit yourself to keyword searching, you are likely to miss important material on your topic that uses other terms. If you only need two or three books, you can probably find what you need by doing keyword searches, but if you are doing historical research, you can’t afford to miss critical material on your topic. For a comprehensive subject search, search with subject headings as well as keywords.

Quick Tip: A good way to identify subject headings for a topic is to do a keyword search in the online catalog using terms you think describe the topic and try to identify a few relevant books. Look at the full record for those books to see what subject headings were used, then do another search on those headings.

 

As a rule of thumb, use fairly broad headings, as well as the specific ones that describe your topic, in order to make sure you haven't inadvertently eliminated relevant material that is contained within works of larger scope. Most likely you will find multiple headings to describe your topic, and you should use all of them. You can narrow your search in the online catalog by combining subject headings (as a phrase) with keywords, using the “Advanced Search” option.

Examples of Subject Headings:

  • Mexican Americans -- Attitudes
  • Mexican Americans -- Cultural assimilation.
  • Mexican Americans -- Ethnic Identity
  • Mexican Americans -- Social conditions
  • Mexican Americans -- Economic conditions -- 20th century
  • Mexican Americans-- Economic conditions
  • Mexican Americans--California--Los Angeles
  • Mexican Americans-- Languages
  • Mexican Americans -- Politics and government
  • Race relations
  • Chicanos
  • Mexico -- Emigration and immigration -- Public opinion

E-book Collections

You are welcome to contact us to request purchase of individual ebook titles.

Scholarly Databases

General

  • Academic Search Ultimate 
    • A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

 

Humanities- and Subject-Specific

There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.

Full-text Collections

Indexes

  • America: History & Life 
    • Index of literature (with some full-text) covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews. This database provides indexing and abstracting for articles, book reviews, and dissertations published since 1910, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. 
    • Differs from a full text collection like JSTOR in the scope and depth of coverage. JSTOR has about 300 history journals, while America: History and Life provides access to over 1,700. In other words: if you only search JSTOR, you will be missing much of the published scholarship.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index 
    • Contains citations to articles in more than 400 scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
  • Chicano Database
    • Chicano Database includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.

For a complete list of databases UIUC users have access to, please see the A-Z Databases page.