ENGL 117: Shakespeare on Film
Welcome! This guide contains resources for ENGL 117: Shakespeare on Film. In it, you will find links to filmed performances and film adaptations available via Illinois library streaming subscriptions and DVD holdings, as well as other Shakespeare resources you may wish to explore.
Films by Play
This list contains links to DVDs in our Library collections and free streaming links (where available). You may also be able to find DVDs at your local public library.
The Taming of the Shrew
Twelfth Night
Stream Twelfth Night on YouTube (1970). Directed by John Sichel.
She's the Man by Publication Date: 2017, (motion picture: 2006)
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Stream a Midsummer Night's Dream (1996) on Tubi. Directed by Adrian Noble. On YouTube, the 1969 film adaption is directed by Peter Hall.
Were the world mineISBN: 9781935423003Publication Date: Gustafson, Tom.; Krueckeberg, Cory James, 1974-; Sterling, Peter.
Romeo and Juliet
Private Romeo by Publication Date: 2012 (Motion Picture: 2011)- William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet by Publication Date: 2002 (Motion Picture: 1997)
Stream Romeo and Juliet (2013) on Tubi or Youtube. Directed by Carlo Carlei.
Hamlet
Othello
Stream Othello (1965) on YouTube. Directed by Stuart Burge. The 1951 film adaption is also on YouTube. Directed by Orson Welles.
Macbeth
The Tempest
- The Tempest by Publication Date: 2000 (Motion Picture: 1979)
- The Tempest by Publication Date: 2011 (Motion Picture: 2010)
Stream The Tempest (2010) on YouTube. Directed by Julie Taymor. The 1979 film adaption is available on Tubi. Directed by Derek Jarman.
Streaming Performance Resources
- The BBC Shakespeare Plays Collection (Ambrose Video)A collection of the BBC Shakespeare Plays, available streaming and on DVD.
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowDigital Theatre Plus includes recordings of classic, contemporary and international live theatre performances, interviews exploring the dramatic, technical theatre-making process as well as experimental, post-dramatic and applied theatre, and essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
- Performing Arts Resources - Streaming Media LibGuideThe Music and Performing Arts Library's guide to streaming media for the performing arts, covering both Library subscription resources and publicly available collections.
- Shakespeare's Globe on Screen30 productions recorded live from the Globe 2008-2018. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.
- Shakespeare - National Theatre CollectionNational Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Books About Shakespeare on Film
Screening Shakespeare in the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 0748623507Publication Date: 2006This bold new collection offers an innovative discussion of Shakespeare on screen after the millennium. Accessibly written for students and general readers.
Shakespeare on Film by ISBN: 9781137286857Publication Date: 2015An approachable guide to Shakespeare on film, this book establishes the differences between stage and screen. It covers the history of Shakespeare on the screen since 1899, and discusses various modes and conventions of adaptations.
Shakespeare the Illusionist by ISBN: 9780821423363Publication Date: 2019Forsyth's aim is not to offer yet another answer as to whether Shakespeare would have written for the screen if he were alive today, but rather to assess what various filmmakers and TV directors have in fact made of the spells, haunts, and apparitions in his plays. From analyzing early camera tricks to assessing contemporary handling of the supernatural, Forsyth reads Shakespeare films for how they use the techniques of moviemaking to address questions of illusion and dramatic influence.
