LibGuides: History 498B: Sex and Science: Primary Source Collections

Digital Collections

Science and Medicine
Women's and Gender Studies

British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences, 1800-1947
From the collections of the London School of Economics and Political Science Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Medical Services and Warfare
Geographic coverage: Global, with an Anglo-American bias.
Date range: 1850-1950.
Document types: Addresses; Clinical Notes; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Financial Documents; Government Documents; Hospital Records; Illustrations; Interview Transcripts; Manuals and Text Books; Maps; Medical Studies; Memoirs; Military Records; Realia; Official Records; Pamphlets; Periodicals; Photographs and Slides; Plans; Postcards; Printed Books; and Statistics.
Topical coverage: Ambulance Systems; Disability; Hospital Care; Medical Developments and Equipment; Mental Health; Nursing; Personal Experience; Public Health, Welfare, and Reform; Rehabilitation; Sanitation; and Women at War.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Books, pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, trade cards, catalogs, business records, posters, and ephemera documenting the 19th century trade in popular medical remedies. Sources taken from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Browse the collections by broad thematic areas--General Cures, Health and Hygiene, Sexual Health, Women's Health, Children's Health, Surgery and General Practice, Dentistry, Production and Trade, Satire and Parody, Education and Research, Physiology, Medical Devices, Homeopathy, and Botanic Medicine--or perform keyword searches. No subject index.
Sex and Sexuality
Documents the history of sexuality and sexology in the Ango-American world, ca. 1800-present. Module I. Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections -- Module II. Self-Expression, Community and Identity.
more...less...
Module I comprises fifteen sub-collections: Dr Alfred C. Kinsey Era Correspondence Collection -- Dr Paul H. Gebhard Correspondence Collection -- The Kinsey Report (The Dr. June Machover Reinisch Collection) -- The Kinsey Institute Annual Reports -- The Alice Field Collection -- The Harry Benjamin Collection -- The James W. Edwards Collection -- Dr John Money Exchange Correspondence Collection -- Society for the Scientific Study of Sex (SSSS) Collection -- Vertical Files -- The Eight Pagers Collection -- The Eros Collection -- The Love Letters Collection -- The Peter Farrer Collection -- The Pulp Fiction Collection.
Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections
Provides access to some digitized materials. Browse through individual finding aids to see linked items.
Sigmund Freud Papers
Digitized from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Ephemera, pamphlets, college records, exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, pedagogical treatises, government documents, anatomy books, midwifery texts, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature.Comprises five sections: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Documents from North America, Britain, and Australia, ca. 1800-2010. Documents include correspondence; diaries; business records; financial documents; legal records; newsletters; questionnaires; reports; magazines; newspapers; books; realia; illustrations; photographs; posters; postcards; cartoons; handbills; pamphlets; scrapbooks; and other ephemera.
Topical coverage: Women's suffrage; feminism; the men's movement; education; training; employment and labor; the body; conduct and politeness; domesticity and the family; government and politics; leisure and entertainment; sex and sexuality.
The Gerritsen Collection of Women's History, 1543-1945
Roughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world. Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.
History of Women
1799-1920. 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photos. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

University of Illinois Archives

Search the University Archives' holdings: https://archon.library.illinois.edu/?settheme=library_web

Search the Digital Library for digital collections: https://digital.library.illinois.edu/

Isabel Bevier Papers
Paula Treichler Papers
International Registry of Reproductive Pathology Research File
Office for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns Records
Women’s Resources and Services Subject File
Women’s Resources and Services Reference File
Association/Organization for Women in Science Records
Women in Engineering Program Brochures
People Like Us
Records Relating to Physical Education for Women Department
National Clearinghouse on Date and Marital Rape Subject File
Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1950-2000.
Document types: Newspaper and magazine clippings, legal articles, publicity material, police training manuals, handbooks, research studies, conference presentation, trial documents (e.g. expert witness testimony), and extensive reference files.
Topical coverage: Rape, marital rape.
Location: University Archives.