Periodicals
- History of Science, Technology & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: History of Science, Technology & Medicine in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). History of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences these fields have had on society and culture throughout time, from prehistory to the present. Updated on a monthly basis, this essential database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: America: History & Life with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Women's Studies International in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Alternative Press Index Archive in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). The Alternative Press Index is a subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: SocINDEX with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: LGBTQ+ Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowThis database covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
- American Medical Periodicals, 1797-1900Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- American Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals. - History of Women1799-1920. 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photos. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Online Resources
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Alternative Press Index Archive in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). The Alternative Press Index is a subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Alt-Press Watch1970-present; mostly United States. Over 670,000 articles from 200 alternative press titles, predominantly news weeklies.
- Ethnic News Watch
- This link opens in a new window
1959-present. Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses. - Independent Voices1951-2015. Over 1,000 alternative press newspapers and periodicals. Currently includes nine subcollections: African American; student protest; feminist; military; LGBTQ; Latino/Latina; literary; American Indian; and radical Right. Click here to view a complete title list for Independent Voices.
Other Formats
- Underground Press CollectionCall Number: FILM 071.3 Un2Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed guide. Coverage: 1963-1985. Supplemented and continued by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection, the University of Missouri Underground Newspaper Collection, the Alternative Press Collection, and the Underground Press Collection Alternative Press Center Supplement, for all of which see below. Click here to view a complete title list for the Underground Press Collection.
- University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper CollectionCall Number: FILM 071.3 Un1mMost titles from the United States and Canada. Adds 120 titles to those in the Underground Press Collection (see above). Coverage: 1960s-1970s. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete title list for the University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection.
- Underground Press Collection. Alternative Press Center SupplementCall Number: FILM 071.3 Un23Further supplements the Underground Newspaper Collection (see above). Library has the complete collection (units 1-8) . Each unit has its own printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of periodicals in the Alternative Press Center Supplement.
- San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection byCall Number: FILM 306.76605 SA5261 titles on 96 microfilm reels. Coverage: 1953-1989. Click here to view a full list of titles in the San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection.
- Herstory : Microfilm Edition of the International Women's History Periodical Archive byCall Number: FILM 396 H439Covers mostly the 1960s and 1970s. Journals, newspapers, and newsletters of women's liberation organizations, as well as women's civic, religious, professional, and peace organizations. The collection was issued in five successive parts. Consult the completed guide to understand the complicated arrangement.
- The Underground and Alternative Press in BritainCall Number: MFICHE 301.2 Un2Coverage: 1961-1984. Note that the yearly releases are not confined to publications from that calendar year. Also on microfilm (FILM 301.2 UN2). With printed Guide.