Did you know?
The call number for Black women activists is E185.96 or 323.092396. Browsing the SSHEL Stacks or Main Stacks in this range could help you find sources.
Print Resources
Print resources are an excellent place to start your research. These books will provide some basic biographical information about the figures you're researching, as well as references to more complete biographies. These are all located in the SSHEL reference collection. If you need help finding any of them, just ask at the reference desk!
Biographical Dictionary of American Educators by Call Number: 923.773 B52Publication Date: 1973Provides a short biography of figures in education which emphasizes educational background, philosophy, and any publications or significant career achievements. Also includes a short list of references.
Biographical Dictionary of North American and European Educationists by Call Number: 370.922 G657bPublication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by Call Number: Q. 370.3 En1925 SSHEL Reference Non-circulating and OnlinePublication Date: 2009Includes brief biographies of major educators as well as a visual history of American education with nearly 350 images and an accompanying narrative at the end of volume three.
Pioneers of Early Childhood Education by Call Number: 372.210922 P368pPublication Date: 1998Combines short descriptions of a figure's involvement with early childhood education with annotated bibliographies of both primary secondary sources on the figure.
Women Educators in the United States, 1820-1993 : A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook by Call Number: 371.100922 W842
Electronic Resources
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the biographies of over 300,000 people. All time periods and nationalities are covered. Includes narrative biographies (2,000-3,000-word essays) from such titles as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Notable 20th Century Scientists, Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, and Contemporary Black Biography, and more than 200,000 "thumbnail" biographies from titles such as Who's Who Among African Americans, Directory of American Scholars, Writer's Directory and Almanac of Famous People. Also includes biographical articles from over 280 journals or magazines such as People Weekly, Interview, Variety, Newsweek, Time, Jet, New Statesman, Entertainment Weekly, Twentieth Century Literature, etc.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowBiographical dictionary of notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and hypertext links to other web resources.
- Biography ResourcesProvides a list of biographical sources including Biography and Genealogy Master Index that offer additional information. Be sure that the source you consult includes the time period during which the individual lived.
- Contemporary Black Biography (Gale Virtual Reference Library)Provides informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.
Subject Guide
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Contact:
SSHEL (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Website