Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Online Newspapers

This guide is intended to teach students, faculty, and staff at the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign how to search for and access current and past issues of popular newspapers online through our library subscribed databases.

Starting Your Search

1. To begin your search for online historical and past newspapers, navigate to the library gateway, or the main library website.

2. Locate the "Databases by Subject & A-Z" icon under the "Find Materials" tab. It is the middle icon in the second row.

Screenshot of "Find Materials" icons on library website. The second icon in the second row for "Databases by Subject & A-Z" is circled.

 


3. On the right-hand side of the screen there is a search bar. In this search bar type "ProQuest Historical Newspapers." It is easier to search for historical newspapers by database rather than publication title, because most historical papers are accessed through ProQuest. You can search by journal title as well (described in previous page), however you may have to comb through the catalog records in more detail to find the date range you are looking for.

Screen shot of the A-Z databases page with the "Search for Databases" bar on the upper-right side of the screen circled.


4. The search for ProQuest Historical Newspapers brings up a list of databases that you have access to through ProQuest. If the newspaper you are looking for does not show up in this search, try searching the title of the paper using the Journal Search option described in the previous page of this guide. If you still cannot find the correct publication and date range, email us at comlibrarian@library.illinois.edu.

Screenshot of the search results for ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Bolded text above the list of results reading, "50 Databases for ProQuest Historical Newspapers" is circled.

Searching for Online Historical Newspaper Databases