This publication covers years 1965 to 1989. It includes 1669 sources, among them books, pamphlets, serials (as yearbooks and regularly issued bibliographies), and a few book chapters. Journal articles were included only when they comprised the entire content of a journal issue. Contents include succinct annotations with general descriptions of each item. Materials listed are arranged by broad subject areas, with further subdivisions by format, geographic units, specific subjects, and alphabetically by the author's last name. Broad subject areas include bibliographies, general sources, agriculture, architecture, art, biography, cinema, communication, drama and dance, economics and business, education, ethnic groups, folklore and popular culture, geography, history, labor and industry, language, law, libraries, archives and museums, literature, music, natural history, numismatics (the study and collection of coins and medals) and philately (the study and collection of postage stamps) , philosophy, politics and government, publishing and printing, religion, social conditions, and statistics. This publication also includes indexes by author and by subject. Publishers include commercial houses, university presses, organizations, cover agencies and individuals.

This important volume contains essays regarding the study of Brazil in the United States. As such, it is indispensable for any researchers of Brazilian Studies in the U.S. The book provides a critical essay on the trends and characteristics of Brazilian studies, by including comprehensive texts that compile, classify, and analyze major works about Brazil since 1945. The book is divided into four parts that include the beginnings of Brazilian studies in the U.S., its evolution, disciplinary approaches to research on Brazil, and Brazilian studies in Britain and France. Part 4 of this books lists major bibliographic and reference resources. See the table of contents here.

This bibliography lists 177 works providing general knowledge to Brazil's history. All works included here are in English and were selected to respond to the needs of college and university faculty members in the fields of Brazilian social studies, literature, geography and economics. The book is arranged alphabetically and by subject and includes a brief description of each item's main features. Subject areas include general bibliography, geography, foreign approaches, sociology-anthropology, economics, labor, government and politics, biographies, history, novels and novelists, arts and architecture, culture and literature, education, religion, periodicals, and historical documents.