Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. It includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
Trial
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
Trial
This collection includes nature-focused documentary series like Planet Earth, Blue Planet, Big Cats and Dynasties, as well as some anthropological and historical documentaries from the BBC.
Trial
This collection features new work of both established playwrights alongside up-and-coming playwrights from around the world. This includes recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
Trial
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance.

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Trial
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788–1901 includes first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials, in order to provide a view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century.
Trial
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Trial
Contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.
Trial
Food Studies Online provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks and recipes, menus, advertising, posters and pamphlets. Resources pertain to several disciplines, including history, environmental studies, health studies, anthropology, biology, business, and sociology.
Trial
An archive of GQ Magazine (1931 - present), an influential men's magazine. This backfile provides insights into the 20th/21st century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
Trial
Backfiles of consumer magazines (1950-2015) with health and fitness topics, covering both men's and women's titles and supporting research in the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine.
Trial
Backfiles of men's interest magazines including some of the earliest publications of this type (National Police Gazette and Argosy) and covering key topics in men's studies/history such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
Trial
An archive of Newsweek magazine (coverage: 1933 - 2012), a premier 20th-21st century U.S. weekly. Its diverse content covers news and politics in addition to business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life.
Trial
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages. All issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Trial
The American Israelite is the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity. All issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
World Politics Review is a daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. This database currently has thousands of articles in its archives, and produces more than 75,000 words of original content per month.
This trial includes access to the World Politics Review website as well. This trial expires on 12/27/21.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...