Current Index
These are all the architects & designers currently represented in this section:
Suggestions & Feedback
Related Guides
Additional Resources: Arch. & Design
-
-
Interiors and Homemaking in Displacement: A Study of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California by This paper examines how displaced immigrants create meaningful spaces for themselves in a setting with vastly different customs, values, buildings, and institutions. Through a naturalistic field study, this paper examines in detail the choices, preferences, and decisions made by Vietnamese Americans in Southern California to rebuild their homes and interiors. Salient in their conceptualizations of homemaking were multigenerational family and genealogical linkages with ancestors and extended kin, as well as ritual linkages through worship, food, décor, and spatial requirements. The lessons from this study on homemaking in displacement also reveal the following emergent concepts: home as cultural investment-interior spaces created to facilitate culture specific living, lifestyle, use, activities, and interactions; home as cultural accommodation-spaces modified and transformed to accommodate cultural values and preferences; and home as cultural repository-home as a container for artifacts, paintings, art, and more. All of the above were significant in Vietnamese American homemaking. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2016
-
Bei Yuming zhuan = Beiyuming zhuan 贝聿铭传 = Beiyuming zhuan / 廖小东著
by
ISBN: 7216055942Publication Date: 2008 -
Journal of Design and the Built Environment byPublication Date: 2005-
-
International Journal of Design byPublication Date: 2007-
-
Asia Design Journal byPublication Date: 2004-
-
Journal of Asian Architecture and Building Engineering byPublication Date: 2002-
Some Subject-Specific Databases:
-
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new windowDETAIL Inspiration is an image and reference database with more than 3000 projects from the last 30 years of architecture magazine, DETAIL. This collection presents construction solutions for architects as they research. Projects are detailed and available to download as PDFs. The database content is expanded and updated with the release of each new issue of the magazine.
-
Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowThe database Building Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design. It is based on the publisher’s high international standing in professional architecture books, on the knowledge of the authors and editors who are leading experts in their fields, as well as on the technical quality of the illustrations. The database offers exclusive and unparalleled, highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of the Birkhäuser program on building types. All content was written and selected by internationally renowned authors in architectural design.
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. The American and international journals indexed include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
-
Asian American Architecture: Mapping the Field and Its Futures The Society of Architectural Historians presented this roundtable during the SAH 2020 Virtual Conference. Moderators: Gail Dubrow, University of Minnesota, Sean H. McPherson, Bridgewater State University, and Itohan Osayimwese, Brown University The site of multiple intersections of great significance to the Asian diaspora in the United States, Seattle has fostered both scholarship and community activism related to the historic preservation of Asian American cultural landscapes. Seattle provides the historical context for this meeting to critically map the development and current state of the field of Asian American architectural history, and to chart interdisciplinary directions for its future transformation. We will discuss how scholarship integrated with political action continues to connect Asian American architectural history with the aspirations of Asian Americans for social justice. Panelists: Sujin Eom, Dartmouth College Lynne Horiuchi, Independent Scholar Priya Jain, Texas A & M University Min Kyung Lee, Bryn Mawr College Ken Tadashi Oshima, University of Washington Arijit Sen, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee Desiree Valadares, University of California, Berkeley
