LibGuides: Art &amp; Design: Art Education: Databases

Art & Design

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more.
Alternate Access Link
Art and Architecture Archive I & II This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
Art History Research net This link opens in a new window
Covers many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the 20th century; Arts + architecture ProFiles (AAP), most comprehensive dictionary of design and designers ever compiled.
Artnet This link opens in a new window
Features a collection of resources on art, presented by the ArtNet Worldwide Corporation. Includes categories such as art and antiques, artists, auctions, magazines, and books. Offers access to images. Contains a site search engine.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of the JSTOR Archive, Artstor is a database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. The collection formerly known as Artstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field.

See More Art Databases

Education

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Education Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Indexing coverage begins June 1983; abstracts are included beginning spring 1994; full text of some journals is available beginning Jan. 1996. Indexing and abstracting coverage is identical to that of Education index and Education abstracts.
Alternate Access Link
ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: ERIC - EBSCO in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). ERIC is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection is to be expanded to include full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Alternate Access Link
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.

See More Education Databases

Museums

Smithsonian Collection Online This link opens in a new window
Database containing primary source materials from the Smithsonian's museums, libraries, and archives.