Communications Library
Databases
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a mixture of practical and theoretical business content including company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more.
- Hoover's Academic Pro This link opens in a new window
If you get an error message when trying to connect to Hoover's off campus, please try an incognito window. Delivers company, executive officer, and industry information in a searchable database. Includes parent, subsidiary, branch and competitor information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowBusiness reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Note that all users must create an account using their University of Illinois email address to access this database. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Publications
- Advertising AgeAd Age is a global media brand focusing on curated creativity, data and analysis, people and culture, and innovation and forecasting.
- Harvard Business ReviewIn addition to management coverage, HBR provides information on brands, products, marketing, and advertising.
- Market Share ReporterPresents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
- Wall Street JournalProvides recent business news and information on companies, products, consumers, and trends.
- Broadcasting & CableBroadcasting & Cable is a weekly telecommunications industry trade magazine covering news and trends.