GIS Software from University Library
GIS Software Resources from the Library
Desktop GIS
The Scholarly Commons computers have the following GIS software installed for researcher use. The University of Illinois
maintains an enterprise license for many of the ArcGIS Platform products, which are available at WebStore for download.
The other desktop GIS software is free and open source.
|
Software |
Version |
Documentation |
Download |
|
10.5 |
|
||
|
Includes: ArcCatalog, ArcGlobe, ArcMap, ArcScene, Background Geoprocessing (64-bit), Data Interoperability, Python 2 |
|||
|
2.0 |
|
||
|
Includes: Python 3 Requires: ArcGIS Online Organization user account with license enabled (see “ArcGIS Online” in the “Web GIS” table below). |
|||
|
2.14 |
|
||
|
Includes: Grass GIS, SAGA GIS |
|||
|
1.10 |
|
||
|
Coming Soon! |
|
|
|
Web GIS
Web GIS software only requires a web browser and typically requires an account to use the service. The University of Illinois
has purchased subscriptions to some services, some may have a free option, while others will require a paid subscription.
|
Software |
Subscription Types |
Documentation |
Sign Up |
|
Public (Free), Organization (Paid) |
|
||
|
The University of Illinois has purchased ArcGIS Online for research and teaching use. Signup for an Organization account through WebStore. Instructors for some classes may setup an account for you. Public accounts are free, but do not offer the full suite of features and tools. Required for ArcGIS Pro. |
|||
|
Public (Free), Organization (Paid) |
|
||
|
To create Story Maps, an ArcGIS Online account is required (see above). Either a Public or Organization account will work for most features. |
|||
|
Library Subscription |
Must Sign In |
||
|
The Library has purchased a subscription to SimplyMap. To create an account and sign in to SimplyMap, you must be on a University computer or wi-fi network, or connected via VPN. |
|||
|
Starter (Free), Premium (Paid) |
|
||
|
Getting started with MapBox is quick and easy and is designed with web developers in mind. |
|||
|
Free, Personal (Paid) |
|
||
|
CARTO also has discounted pricing for education and research use. |
|||
|
Professional (Paid) |
|
||
|
Mango offers a 30 day free trial. |
|
|
|
Geospatial Data Collection
Geospatial Data Collection software is used to capture geospatial data in the field with mobile devices, such as a smart phones
or tablets enabled with GPS. Many times this software requires a mobile app and an account.
|
Software |
Cost |
Documentation |
Download |
|
Included with ArcGIS Online |
|
||
|
Collector for ArcGIS is a very powerful geographic data collection app that can capture point, line, and polygon shapes; capture photo and video attachments; supports off-line, disconnected environments; supports relational geodatabase design; can connect to Bluetooth-enabled, high- accuracy GPS units; and has many other features. To use Collector for ArcGIS, an ArcGIS Online account is required (see above). |
|||
|
Included with ArcGIS Online |
|
||
|
Survey123 for ArcGIS is a simple and intuitive form-centric geospatial data collection solution that lets users collect point data along with survey data and photos. Simply design your form on the web, then collect data with the mobile app, which also supports off-line, disconnected environments. To use Survey123 for ArcGIS, an ArcGIS Online account is required (see above).
|
|||
GIS Server
GIS server software may be required for high-level, advanced research applications and will require a high level of investment.
Please contact the GIS experts at the Scholarly Commons to explore and learn more about whether your research will need a
GIS server.
|
Software |
Cost |
Documentation |
Download |
|
Included with Esri License |
|
||
|
ArcGIS Enterprise includes ArcGIS server and Portal for ArcGIS. Users will need their own Windows or Linux server to deploy the software. The Library maintains an ArcGIS Enterprise server for providing data and services to the university and public here. Scholarly Commons GIS experts can help with installation and use of ArcGIS Enterprise, but on a limited basis. |
|||
|
Free and Open Source |
|
||
|
GeoServer is an open source server for sharing geospatial data. Designed for interoperability, it publishes data from any major spatial data source using open standards. |
|||
|
Free and Open Source |
|
||
|
MapServer is an Open Source platform for publishing spatial data and interactive mapping applications to the web. Originally developed in the mid-1990’s at the University of Minnesota, MapServer is released under an MIT-style license, and runs on all major platforms (Windows, Linux, Mac OS X). MapServer is not a full-featured GIS system, nor does it aspire to be. |
|||