University Library licenses provide access to many literature databases that index a variety of scholarly materials (e.g., journal articles, book chapters, meeting proceedings, theses and dissertations, etc., depending on the database) for our UIUC student, faculty, and staff as well as local users in any of our libraries.
Some literature databases are subject-focused, some are multidisciplinary. The following are several that may be of interest for Landscape Architecture scholarship.
For access to a complete list, see our A-Z List of Databases.
Landscape Architecture Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including biology, food science, landscape architecture, urban planning, engineering, animal science, law, general sciences, and more. The database also provides access to video content from the Associated Press.
- Agricola on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, this database indexes over 1,800 journals from 1895 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source surveys over 770 full-text journals, 470 peer-reviewed journals, and over 220 full-text books. The database has a strong international coverage with periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and has been designed for use by art scholars and artists. Many A&A subject areas, including landscape architecture, photography, art history, commercial & decorative art, and sculpture.. There are 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective indexes nearly 600 publications on fine, decorative, and commercial art, including landscape architecture, from 1929 through 1984. Publications include feature articles, interviews, films reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowThe Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Inc. approx. 5000 images from Fdn. of Landscape Studies. These images provide an overview of landscape studies, encompassing all cultural landscapes, including gardens, parks, cities, suburbs, rural areas, and the humanized wilderness. Users can search, view, download and organize images. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. The American and international journals indexed include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics including as it relates to landscape architecture and urban planning. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources from 1973 to date.
CAB Abstracts is one of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the applied life sciences from 1973 to present. Some of the areas covered include agriculture, aspects of human health and nutrition, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, plant sciences, and some coverage in landscape and planning research. CAB Abstracts is a product of the Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International (CABI), a not-for-profit organization. - Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new windowDesign and applied arts index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. An indispensable tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowEngineering Village is “the information discovery platform for the engineering community.” It includes access to several major literature databases that provide access to scholarly journals, trade publications, patents, government reports, reference books, conference proceedings, and more. Databases included in Engineering Village — Compendex, Inspec, GEOBASE, GeoRef, EP Patents, U.S. Patents, and NTIS. Ei Compendex covers over 20 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. GEOBASE contains 3+ million earth abstracts allowing users to “review geographical structures, relation to natural resources, and links to local resources including transportation and regional planning.” NTIS contains nearly 3 million bibliographic records for government research reports and more in over 350 subject areas.
- Forest Service Enterprise Data This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the US Forest Service this open access database is an index to publications on parks, park services and land use issues and includes maps as well as text based resources.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Indexes articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal archive provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Areas include landscape architecture, urban planning, and public policy and administration. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. - Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowMaterial ConneXion is a database of materials used in architecture and design. Users have unlimited access to comprehensive product information, technical specifications, application information, manufacturer and distributor contact information, and images for each of the materials and processes. Searchable by product, process, and application.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well as landscape architecture and the environment - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 24 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular bi-ology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Infor-mation (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available. Includes articles about physiological effects of landscape on humans.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature. It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book serials and non-serials, conference proceedings, and patents. Multi-disciplinary, including landscape architecture, and urban planning. Several discover features, analytical tools, and research metrics enhance your results.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.
Log in options: Create your own account or sign in as a guest - Web of Science (All Databases Search) This link opens in a new windowEasily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.