Textbooks at the UIUC Library
To find more textbooks, search the Library Catalog by Subject using the Subject Term "Spanish Language Textbooks for Foreign Speakers."
Access Spanish by ISBN: 1351105817Publication Date: 2019Access Spanish: A First Language Course provides a thorough grounding in all the skills required to understand, speak, read and write contemporary Spanish from scratch. .
PUNTO C/ELE: : Manual de español como lengua extranjera. Nivel B2 by ISBN: 9561423030Publication Date: 2018A Spanish textbook for intermediate learners from Chile.
PUNTO C/ELE : Manual de español como lengua extranjera. Nivel A1 by ISBN: 9561423022Publication Date: 2018A beginner Spanish textbook from Chile.
Ultimate Spanish Advanced by ISBN: 9781400020737Publication Date: 2003With this enjoyable and effective textbook developed by the experts at Living Language, you'll increase your fluency, add depth to your vocabulary, and perfect your grammar. You'll also get plenty of practice with exercises.
Ultimate Spanish advanced [sound recording] by Call Number: CDISC 468.2421 Ul82003Note: CD Set A requires the book; CD Set B covers the same material as Set A but does not require the book. Some patrons might find using Sets A and B together useful
Open Access Textbooks
To find more open access textbooks, go to Open Library Textbooks.
- Voy en camino¡Voy en camino! means “I’m on my way” in Spanish. Since learning an additional language and the culture is a journey in itself, ¡Voy en camino! captures the voyage to get there. ¡Voy en camino! has been created to serve basic Spanish learning. All units of study are designed to be interactive with embedded audio, videos and links for learners to practice the material along the way.
Yo Puedo by ISBN: 1942341806Publication Date: 2021This book seeks t to change these common complaints by creating materials that take a new approach to learning a second language based upon the skills that we deem most useful and that will enable our students to confidently express themselves in Spanish. text is designed for beginning Spanish language students. The pedagogical approach incorporates the flipped classroom methodology. The text is supplemented by various presentations and videos that are freely available at https://milnepublishing.geneseo.edu/yopuedo1/
Navigation
This Libguide presents an array of online (subscription and freely available) and print resources for learning and improving Spanish.
Basic Sources: textbooks, online learning tools, grammars, dictionaries, writing guides and usage manuals.
Listening Skills: podcasts, news, radio, tv and films
Reading Skills: Newspapers, magazines, and readers (books with glossaries).
Rosetta Stone--for UIUC Affiliates Only
The Library subscribes to Rosetta Stone Foundations, which features 30 languages from around the globe. To enter the database, go to Rosetta Stone Foundations/ Alternative link . You can also use Rosetta Stone on a mobile device. To get set up, use the Tutorial for Rosetta Stone Mobile.
If you have trouble entering the database and signing up for an account, contact Paula Carns at pcarns@illinois.edu.
If you have difficulties once you set up your account, please use the "Contact Support" option at Rosetta Stone (linked off of the entry page).
Open Access Apps
Beelinguapp is a free app exclusively for mobile devices and focuses on learning and practicing languages through reading. Within the app, you can listen and read stories in your language of choice, as well as follow along with its English translation. The side-by-side reading lets you check any vocabulary or sentences you don't quite understand. A variety of stories are available, including folk and fairy tales, mysteries, classics, and more.
Busuu is a free language learning app, providing access to lessons for twelve languages. The app uses the four main language concepts--reading, speaking, listening, and writing--and provides tailored lessons to aid in the learning process. Additionally, Busuu can connect users to native speakers, who can provide feedback on lessons, writings, and more. You can access the app on your computer or mobile device.
Drops is a free app that uses game-style mechanics to help you learn the language. The short, five minute lessons combine aesthetically pleasing word games with mnemonic devices. Drops also has a companion app, called Scripts, for learning character-based languages (or languages with a different writing system). While the basic app is free, there are also subscription options for more features. In addition to accessing the app on your device, you may also try it in your browser or download it to your computer.
Duolingo is a free language learning application that you can use on your computer or your mobile device. The app uses a game-like system to aid learning, letting you accumulate points for every correct answer, and even allowing you to compete against your friends. Small, short lessons make up a majority of Duolingo exercises, and the more you use the app, the more personalized your lessons become. There are a variety of languages available (with more being added every day), and no limit to how many you can learn! Best of all, you can practice your language skills wherever and whenever you want!
Babbel- This app is a paid "cousin" of Duolingo, though with 40 free lessons, it is a great option! Each class uses pictures to teach you vocabulary. Then the words you learned are used in related phrases and short dialogues adjusted to the the level you are at to build conversation skills. There are handy pop-ups that explain the most important grammatical points related to the learned material and if you are on a computer, they also include short cultural notes. You can also get separate packages devoted to improving specific skills such as grammar or vocabulary if you already have some experience with the language and only want to improve certain skills. Lastly, Babbel’s classes can be downloaded and kept offline for you to study.
Memrise is a free app designed to adapt to your needs as you learn a new language. It provides audio and video clips from native speakers to help with pronunciation, vocabulary building, and to grow your own speaking skills. Rather than focusing on grammar, Memrise prioritizes speaking confidently and learning how to communicate.
Mondly is a free app that uses course materials, chatbots, and augmented reality to aid the language learning process. They have 33 languages to choose from, and even allows you to learn a new language using your native language, instead of from English. This is relatively unique amongst language apps. The free version of Mondly gives you a daily lesson as well as seven other "Hello" lessons. Like Duolingo, Mondly awards you points for correct answers, even ranking you among other users in a friendly competition.
Open Access Apps Conversational Apps
HelloTalk is a language learning app that focuses on learning through conversation. The app connects you to native speakers of the language you wish to learn, as well as allows you to teach them your native language as well. You can communicate with them through messages, voice recordings, video and voice calls, and even drawings. Additionally, the app provides language tools to help with pronunciation, translation, and tools to correct grammar or vocabulary errors within messages.
Like HelloTalk, Tandem is a language exchange app that uses communication with native speakers to help teach or aid in language acquisition. After joining Tandem, users may start conversations with native speakers of the language they wish to learn. Communication methods include text messages and voice and video calling/recording. Additionally, there are correction and translation tools for users, so they can correct grammar and vocabulary while chatting with one another.
HiNative- A Free App! This app makes learning correct pronunciation a breeze. It allows you to get the benefits of getting in touch with native speakers without the hassle of searching for an exchange partner or having to schedule a chat. Anything is up for question here; you can ask for translations, input on pronunciation, or advice on cultural norms. You can also help fellow learners with the knowledge of your own language(s)!
Writing Guides at the UIUC Library
Using Spanish by ISBN: 9780521004817Publication Date: 2005Unlike conventional grammars, this guide to Spanish usage, for students with basic knowledge, focuses on areas of vocabulary and grammar causing the most difficulty to English speakers. The new edition has been extensively revised and updated to emphasize Latin-American (particularly Mexican) usage. Significantly expanded vocabulary sections now include examples which contextualize each word or expression. Finally, some completely new material has been added on semi-technical vocabulary and Anglicisms. First Edition Hb (1992) 0-521-42123-3 First Edition Pb (1992) 0-521-26987-3
REA's Handbook of Spanish Grammar, Style and Writing by ISBN: 0878910948Publication Date: 2000This exceptionally comprehensive handbook is straightforward and easy-to-understand. Hundreds of examples are included to clearly demonstrate what is correct and what is incorrect in areas of Spanish grammar and writing. Covered are nouns, verbs, adjectives, composition, punctuation, spelling, and much more. Complete practice exercises with answers follow each chapter. All of the essentials of Spanish are contained in this thorough and well-organized book.
The Writer's Reference Guide to Spanish by ISBN: 9780292725119Publication Date: 2000Writers and editors of Spanish have long needed an authoritative guide to written language usage
Subject Guide
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-2220
Homepage: http://library.illinois.edu/llx
Dictionaries
Online Dictionaries
Verb Conjugation
Verbix -- Spanish Verb Conjugator
Spanish Verb Conjugations
Wordreference Verb Conjugator
Dictionaries at UIUC Library
Print Dictionaries
The Literatures and Languages Library circulates print dictionaries. To find a monolingual Spanish dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the subject heading Spanish Language Dictionaries (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog). To find a Spanish/English dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the subject heading Spanish Language Dictionaries English.
Grammars at the UIUC Library
Hablar y escribir correctamente : gramática normativa del español actual by Publication Date: 2006
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish by ISBN: 9781315648446Publication Date: 2018A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish is a comprehensive, cohesive and clear guide to the forms and structures of Spanish as it is written and spoken today in Spain and Latin-America. It includes clear descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of Spanish, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples of contemporary Spanish, both Peninsular and Latin-American, formal and informal. Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition is even more relevant to students and teachers of Spanish.
Spanish Grammar in Context by Publication Date: 2003
Spanish Grammar Made Easy by ISBN: 1317353986Publication Date: 2017-Spanish Grammar Made Easy is the ideal introduction to the basics of Spanish grammar for anyone new to the language or looking to refresh their knowledge.
A Student Grammar of Spanish by ISBN: 9780521670777Publication Date: 2006A Student Grammar of Spanish, first published in 2006, is a concise introduction to Spanish grammar, designed for English-speaking undergraduates. Assuming no prior knowledge of grammatical terminology,
- Spanish Language and CultureFreely available grammar explanations and exercises.
Spanish Verbs
A number of websites provide verb tables and exercises. A few are:
Study Spanish.com's verb lessons -- a guide with conjugations, drills and quizes organized by types of verbs.
Spanish Verb Conjugation Trainer -- a JavaScript-Tool to practice the different forms of the most important basic and irregular Spanish verbs.