In this Guide
In this guide, you will find research tools from various resources and subject areas:
- General Sources: Bibliographies on various Brazilian topics
- National Bibliography: National Brazilian Bibliographies
- History: Bibliographies for Brazilian historical research
- Art and Literature: Subject-specific bibliographies
- Media: Resources addressing the Brazilian media
- Databases: Online databases for Brazilian studies, both open access and available by subscription through the University of Illinois Library.
- Catalogs: The University of Illinois Library catalogs and from various national Brazilian and university libraries
- Online Resources: Relevant and original research resources accessible online or digitized primary sources.
Additional Resources from the IASL- Latin America and the Caribbean Studies
- Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Provided by Alexander Street
See additional Selected Special & Rare Collection Items from the Latin America and the Caribbean Collection, at the International and Area Studies Library.
This collection includes the following items related with Brazil:
- Brazilian Telenovelas, 1970-2013
- Jornal do Brasil- microfilm from 1891-1901
- Jornal do Brasil - Suplemento Dominical- June 1956 - December 1961
Welcome to this Research Guide to Brazil
Photo credit: International Consortium for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Research - ICIER
Brazil National Archives - Online Exhibits, Estampas do Rio
Bibliographies Available at the Library
Jornal do Brasil - Suplemento Dominical- Available at IASL
Introduction
Welcome to the Research Guide to Brazil. The Brazilian collection at the University of Illinois is one of the most comprehensive in the nation, totaling more than 103,000 volumes and access to numerous electronic resources. The purpose of this guide is to compile and share relevant research resources for the study of Brazil and make this guide available to students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars at the University of Illinois Libraries. In addition to highlighting print resources in the collection, the guide also provides information about Brazilian e-resources. Material highlighted covers different subject areas, but mostly focuses on the humanities and the arts.
The databases are a selected sample of the possible e-resources available. We provide access to both databases available to university affiliated patrons, as well as resources in open access available to all. While this guide aims to be comprehensive, some researchers might need extra assistance with particular topics. We encourage you to contact Prof. Antonio Sotomayor, Librarian of Latin America and Caribbean Studies, for further assistance regarding your research.
Guide Prepared by:
Catalina Hernandez-Cabal - Graduate Student
Antonio Sotomayor - Librarian of Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Katrina Spencer - IASL Graduate Assistant
Other Campus Resources on Brazil
The Lemann Institute for Brazilian Studies: Established in 2009, the Lemann Institute for Brazilian Studies promotes teaching and research about Brazil by faculty and students at the University of Illinois and their Brazilian counterparts, who take advantage of the extensive resources available on campus and through our networks.
Other Library Guides: Find additional resources about Brazil in our other guides Brazilian Culture and Cinema do Brazil.
