LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence: Background Information

Background Information

Artificial Intelligence (or AI) is the human-like intelligence, judgement, learning, and awareness exhibited by machines, along with the branches of computer science and engineering that seek to create intelligent machines. Use the following sources to learn more about this topic, including the scientific and ethical aspects.

Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, and technology. The Encyclopedia includes an article on Artificial Intelligence and related topics.
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence
Contains over 200 entries relating to development and practical applications of artificial intelligence.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
A collection of biographies, bibliographies, and eight essays on science, technology, and ethics.
Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discoveries
The histories of science, technology, and mathematics merge with the study of humanities and social science in this interdisciplinary reference work. Essays on people, theories, discoveries, and concepts are combined with overviews.
American Men and Women of Science
Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.