Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

American Library Association Archives: Home

An introduction to the American Library Association Archives at the University of Illinois.

Contact Us

Horticulture Field Lab Building
 
ALA Archives
Horticulture Field Lab, Rm 107A

 

ala-archives@library.illinois.edu
217-333-7841

 

Website http://archives.library.illinois.edu/ala/

Hours
Mon, Tue, Thurs, Fri: 8:30-12, 1-5
Wed: 10-12, 1-5

 

Schedule an appointment

ALAIR

Looking for more current, digital content from the ALA? Check out the American Library Association Institutional Repository (ALAIR)!

ALAIR is an open access repository, committed to collecting, permanently storing, and providing digital access to the publications and intellectual work of the ALA.

Related Links

About

The American Library Association Archives was established at the University of Illinois in 1973 and since then has been managed by the University Archives.

Discover ALA's history through documents, photographs, and audiovisual materials on social and political activism, library services and technology, ALA conferences, the Library War Service, and more. The Archives provides access in support of research, scholarship, and educational outreach.

ALA Ex-Presidents at Saratoga Springs, New York

ALA Ex-Presidents at Saragota Springs, New York, 1918

How To Get Started

94th ALA Annual Conference program coverLooking for materials on a specific topic or person? Search the Archives holdings database using keywords or phrases.

Browse through the Archives blog for more information on popular topics such as the Library War Service, the 1964 New York World's Fair, Knapp School Libraries Project, and bookmobiles. Also check out our research guides on library related topics.

The ALA Archives also has electronic records readily available for research. Search for digital materials in the American Library Association Institutional Repository or browse the Archives digital collections.

When you are ready to schedule an appointment to visit the archives, would like to request copies, or need more help, contact us!

Archivist

Cara Bertram's picture
Cara Bertram
Contact:
1707 S. Orchard St.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-300-0816
Website

Social Media