Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Freely Available STEM Resources Online: Home/Multidisciplinary

Various government, educational and reputable sites with wide-ranging information on science and technology.

Background

This webliography identifies digital collections related to science and technology as identified by the librarian and also highlights some of those covered in D-Lib Magazine in the "Featured Collections" portion of their publication. D-Lib Magazine is a digital magazine funded by The Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI) and formerly by a grant from US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF).

These resources are appropriate for investigation into an area, educational tools for teachers, and general interest and investigation into STEM subjects.

Ask a Librarian

Multidisciplinary Resources

Cosmic Evolution

Hosted at Harvard University, the site hopes to educate on the matter of evolution on the cosmic scale, using the scientific method and imparting the breadth and interdisciplinary nature of evolution. The site requires Java.

The David Rumsey Collection

Over 44,000 images from an over 150,000 image collection, the David Rumsey Collection is focused primarily on rare 18th and 19th century maps. David Rumsey, president of Cartography Associates, made his private collection public under a creative commons license.

EdHeads

Created in part with The Ohio State University, this resource provides interactive, free, online tools to enhance critical thinking in the STEM fields. Targeted primarily at those aged K-12, it might be of interest to any new learner in the field.

The Encyclopedia of Earth

Supported by the Environmental Information Coalition, the National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) and Boston University, The Encyclopedia of Earth is a broad and searchable database encompassing all matters of earth science and issues.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

The United States EPA provides policy information on environmental issues and provides over 65,000 digital and 1,500 print documents. Additionally it has resources and lesson plans for teachers to use.

Expeditions and Discoveries

Also a Harvard collection, Expeditions and Discoveries is relevant for researchers in anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, botany, geography, geology, medicine, oceanography, and zoology. The collection contains full-text manuscripts, some not found elsewhere.

The Exploratorium

The Exploratorium is a museum located in San Francisco, California. The Explore section of the Exploratorium, linked above, contains the online collection. This collection encompasses topics in science as well as apps, engaging learning activities and other websites for all ages.

The Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention & Innovation

This guide to invention and innovation and the stories behind it all by the Smithsonian Institution provides archives, videos and audio, booklists and more.

NOVA Online

The website for the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) award winning science programming contains documentary information, current programs as well as links to multiple resources. These resources include educator tools, NOVA’s Energy Lab, The Secret Life of Scientists & Engineers, The Nature of Reality and more.

PlantingScience

PlantingScience is a tool created by national scientific organizations, scientists, educators and many more to provide mentorship to high school students in the sciences. There is also a link to open resources of experiments that meet National Science Education Standards.

Science.gov

This powerful government resource compiles content from 15 government agencies, including: Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health & Human Services, Homeland Security, the Interior, and Transportation; the Environmental Protection Agency, the Government Printing Office, the Library of Congress, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Archives and Records Administration and the National Science Foundation.

 

Subject Guide

Kelli Trei's picture
Kelli Trei
Contact:
218 Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave. Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 2442503
Website
Subjects:Biology