4 vols.

Signed entries with bibliographies of recommended readings. Includes a very short chronology.

Online version of the 2 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies ("Suggested Reading"). Bibliographies not annotated. Includes a "Reader's Guide" that arranges the entries by broad topics, a subject index, and several research guides related to the subject of the encyclopedia.

Covers the twentieth century.

Online version of the 1 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies ("Suggested Readings"). Bibliographies not annotated. Includes a chronology, a list of women's organizations, a "reader's guide" that arranges the entries by broad topics, and a guide to researching women's history "in the electronic age".

Begun in 1978, this massive set is finally considered complete. Each volume contains essays by scholars on specific topics in American Indian life and culture, with a cumulated list of sources cited in the essays and a detailed name and subject index.

2 vols. Opens with a chronology, which could be more useful if it were better keyed to the encyclopedic entries. Signed entries with bibliographies. Vol. 2 comprises a collection of primary source documents.

Specific information about over 200 North American Indian groups in Canada and the United States. rates each Native American group in careful detail. Listed alphabetically, starting with the tribal name, translation, origin, and definition, each entry includes significant facts about the group's location, population, history, and culture, government, economy, legal status, and land holdings.

Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present. Separate articles on more than one hundred major tribes - from Abenaki to Zuni - discuss community origins, rituals and beliefs, social organizations, and present-day life.

200 alphabetically-arranged entries that illuminate how indigenous North Americans lived in the past and how they live now. Together with a wealth of stories, songs, and first-hand renderings of events, they include biographies of leaders, accounts of social problems, explanations of ceremonials, and descriptions of origin stories. Although most of the artifacts portrayed come from the British Museum, they are supplemented with other important examples from American collections.

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, Third Edition is a fully updated reference discussing more than 200 American Indian tribes of North America, as well as prehistoric peoples and civilizations. Summarizes the historical record - locations, migrations, contacts with non-Indians, wars, and more - and includes present-day tribal affairs and issues. The book also covers traditional Indian lifeways, including diet, housing, transportation, tools, clothing, art, and rituals, as well as language families. Includes at least one representative tribe from each language family or language isolate for each of the culture areas. New entries include: Beaver (Tsattine); Bella Coola; Cahuilla; Coahuiltec; Columbia (Sinkinse); Cowichan; Diegueno; Keres; Mobile; Nanticoke; Puyallup; Quinault; Salinas (Salinan); Tewa; Tolowa; Washoe; Yellowknife; and more.

Offers essential facts on the identity, kinships, locations, populations and cultural characteristics of some 400 separately identifiable peoples native to the North American continent, both living and extinct, from the Canadian Arctic to the Rio Grande. The abundance of illustrations and photographs form an especially rich store of material describing the vast range of Native American material culture. The maps are valuable pictorial representations of major historical events. Population and settlement trends based on the most recent US Census paint detailed portraits of all officially recognized tribes. The book includes: More than 600 color and archival photographs Extensive visual coverage of tribal dress and cultural artifacts 46 maps, including prehistoric cultural and historic sites and tribe distribution maps, as well as maps showing movement of tribes and non-indigenous troops during conflicts.

Online version of the 3 volume original. Signed entries with brief bibliographies. Includes chronology.

3 vols. Signed entries with bibliographies. Chronology at the end of vol. 2. Vol. 3 comprises a collection of primary source documents.

3 vols.

Entries are grouped by year, and then subdivided by broad subjects (e.g.: Laws and Legislation, Politics, Settlements and Villages, Land Cessions and Reservations and so forth). For a chronology it supplies surprisingly few dates beyond year, but the interesting subject arrangement will make it a useful research tool for many.

Timeline of key events in Native American history from emergence in North America through early 2001, emphasizing Native and Euro-American relations since 1492, with a glossary of terms, bibliography, and subject index.

A detailed timeline, with illustrations, of Native American history in North America, beginning with the first migrations across the land bridge from Asia to Alaska, up to 1994.

Actually a chronology, its title notwithstanding. Indexes entries by place (states first, then subdivided by locale) and Indian tribe. Also includes a general name and subject index.

2 vols.

Reproduces the card file from the Library of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (now at the Department of the Interior Library), covering Indian chiefs and other historically prominent Indians, Indian agents and other BIA personnel.

More than 100 black and white maps documenting culture and tribal areas; U.S. census data; so-called Indian land "cessions"; Indian reservations; agencies, school, hospitals; Oklahoma Indian Territory; Alaska; the U.S. Army and the Indian frontier. Notes to the maps are listed in the back of the volume. There is a single index combining subjects and tribal and geographic names.