Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. You can find research on interventions published in the Social Work field by locating journal articles. You can find articles through database searches. The University of Illinois Library subscribes to numerous article databases (lists of article citations and sometimes full-text) that can be used to search for journal articles on your research topic. Some databases cover many disciplines, while others are subject-specific.
Quick Access to All Social Work Databases
A-Z Social Work Databases
Find the best library databases for your social work research. Includes 'best bets' and helpful descriptions of each database's content.
Social Work Reference Center
New Gray Literature Database PsycEXTRA
Gray literature is documentary material that is not controlled by commercial publishers, such as unpublished manuscripts, white papers, conference papers, government document, and so on. The publisher of gray literature might be organizations and associations, government agencies, universities, and corporations.
PsycEXTRA is a unique database that combines bibliographic records with full-text professional and lay-audience literature such as legal testimony, reports, conference materials, newsletter, popular magazines, patient-oriented factsheets and brochures, guidelines and standards, grants, and web materials. It is the premier resource for information and data for cutting-edge research and practice in the behavioral and social sciences and an archive of gray literature documenting psychology's development. It has original, hard-to-find research and materials from professional sources, different from traditional peer-reviewed research materials.