1900-2000. Selected primary sources, organized by decade and then sub-organized by broad topics: Arts, Business & Economy, Education, Fashion & Design; Government & Politics, Law & Justice, Lifestyles & Social Trends, Media, Medicine & Health, Religion, Science & Technology, and Sports.

Books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera documenting American radicalism, including sub-collections like Wounded Knee, American Indian Movement, Students For a Democratic Society, Ku Klux Klan, and Black Panthers.

Documents from the Free Speech Movement at the University of California, Berkeley, September-December 1964.

33 oral histories from individuals who witnessed the protests at the 1968 Democrat National Convention in Chicago.

Anarchist pamphlets, posters, photographs, ephemera, and the newsletter of the Selma Inter-Religious Project. The collection documents social protest movements, mostly in the United States. Movements include anarchism, civil liberties, communism, socialism, labor, feminism, pacifism, environmentalism, and student protest. Bulk of the collection dates from the 1960s and later.

Books, journals, government records, video, audio, and photographs, with emphasis on the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Also includes documents on Watergate, Iran Contra, and other government scandals.

Emphasis on protest and social change. Archival material from the Browne Popular Culture Library (Bowling Green State University), the Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), the British National Archives, the University of Sussex Library, and the Rock Source Archive.

Survey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.

Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.

Almost 200 oral audio-recorded oral histories, with keyword-searchable transcripts. Also supports browsing by subject.

Scholarship, memoirs, manifestos, bibliographies, images of artifacts, and links to other sources on the Internet.

Underground periodicals, pamphlets, leaflets, posters, photographs, realia, and newsreels.

Newspapers, periodicals, oral histories, organizational records, personal papers, pamphlets, and ephemera that document the history of African American communities in Chicago, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, North Carolina. Highlights of the collection include the Chicago Urban League records (1917-1985), the Lea Demarest Taylor papers on housing and race relations, 1893-1966, the Urban League of St. Louis records, and an extensive oral history collection. Collection is organized around five broad themes: Desegregation, Urban renewal and housing problems, Civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.

Photographs, news clippings, pamphlets, scrapbooks, directories, and newsletters, ca. 1924-1970

1968-1979 . FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Digitized from the 26 reel microfilm collection, FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Part of Archives Unbound.

Papers of civil rights activist Bayard Rustin, ca. 1950-1987. Digitized from Rustin's archives held by the Library of Congress. Part of ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1.

Online access to 37 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including Martin Luther King Jr. FBI Files, Parts I and II; Several series of records on civil rights during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Carter administrations; and more.

Issued in modules. 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more.

TRIAL. FBI records on the Black Liberation Army (BLA), from the period 1970-1983. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Records from the personal collection of Dr. Muhammad Ahmad. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage

Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Major reference works, along with supplementary primary source material.

The papers of the NAACP held by the Library of Congress. Previously available on microfilm, the digitized version comprises six modules: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files (Parts 1, 2, 14, 16, 17, and 21 of the microfilm set); Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files (Parts 12, 19, 25, 26, 27, and 29 of the microfilm set); Special Subjects (Parts 11, 18, 24, 28, and 30 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces (Parts 3, 4, 5, 9, and 13 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files (Parts 22 and 23 of the microfilm set); and The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses (Parts 6, 7, 8, 10, 15, and 20 of the microfilm set). Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Documents from the Archives of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries. The Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries was established for the purpose of bringing the expertise of social scientists to bear on the problem of race relations in the United States. Although the entire archive has not been digitized, the collection includes significant holdings of case studies, reports, audio recordings, scrapbooks, statistical data, academic studies, photographs, periodicals, correspondence, government documents, posters, and more. The collection also features extensive editorial apparatus intended to assist the user with exploring and interpreting the documents.

Using data reported by municipalities, this site documents the number of families, by race, displaced through federally-funded urban renewal projects.

Documents drawn from 38 archival collections from around the world, mostly in the United States and United Kingdom. Covers migration and borderlands around the world, 1900 to the present, with emphasis on Mexico and the United States; EU; Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, and Syria; Congo; Germany; Argentina; Canada and the United States; and Turkey.

Digitized from the Herman Baca Papers at University of California at San Diego. Baca was a Chicano rights activist, ca. 1964-2006.

Over 1,250 oral histories, from World War II to the present, documenting Latinx experience.

A collection of 51 smaller sub-collections focusing on LGBTQ history, primarily of the post-Stonewall era.

Papers of gay rights activist Bayard Rustin, ca. 1950-1987. Digitized from Rustin's archives held by the Library of Congress. Part of ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1.

Like many digital collections that call themselves "archives," this one is not technically an archive. A collection of collections documenting transgender experience across the globe, with bulk of documents coming from United States and Europe, ca. 1950s-present. Document types include periodicals, photographs, clippings, ephemera, books, oral histories, artworks, and realia. Does include some archival collections.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documents from North America, Britain, and Australia, ca. 1800-2010. Documents include correspondence; diaries; business records; financial documents; legal records; newsletters; questionnaires; reports; magazines; newspapers; books; realia; illustrations; photographs; posters; postcards; cartoons; handbills; pamphlets; scrapbooks; and other ephemera.
Topical coverage: Women's suffrage; feminism; the men's movement; education; training; employment and labor; the body; conduct and politeness; domesticity and the family; government and politics; leisure and entertainment; sex and sexuality.

A collection of 53 digital collections. Emphasis is on California. Archival collections, audio recordings, video recordings, periodicals, datasets, photographs, and more.

TRIAL. Records from the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A. Part of Archives Unbound.

Not primarily a digital collection, though the site does have a few digital collections, including a complete run of the Archive's newsletters. The Lesbian Herstory Archives is an actual special collection in Brooklyn, New York, and its collection available on microfilm.

Geographic coverage: University of Illinois campus.
Date range: 1970s-2000s.

Lists dozens of oral history digital collections, like ACTU UP Oral History Project (187 oral histories recorded between 2002 and 2015 from early members of ACT UP New York).

Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films on LGBT history, gay culture, gay subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, and global comparative experiences.

Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

Comprises five main sub-collections: Southern California Women for Understanding (SCWU) collection, 1975-1999; Connexxus/Centro de Mujeres Collection, 1985-1991; Women Against Violence Against Women (WAVAW) collection, 1964-1994; the Margaret Cruikshank Papers, 1971-1986; and the Lillian Faderman Papers, 1976-1989. From the UCLA Library Digital Collections.

Geographic coverage: Global, bulk from the United States.
Date range: 1900-2000 (bulk 1960-2000).
Document types: Correspondence, posters, photographs, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, sound recordings, videos, and advertisements.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ history.
Source Institution: ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives at the University of Southern California Libraries.

LGBTQ history, ca. 1940-present, of Washington, D.C. Collection includes periodicals; organizational records; personal papers; artworks; ephemera; audio-recordings; government documents; realia; and oral histories.

Documents the history of sexuality and sexology in the Ango-American world, ca. 1800-present. Module I. Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections -- Module II. Self-Expression, Community and Identity.

See especially: National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 1: Correspondence, Section C: 1945-1974; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 2: Minutes, Legal Papers, and Financial Records, 1912-1972; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 3: Printed Materials, 1850-1972; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part I: Meetings of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committees, Minutes and Related Documents, 1918-1974; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part II, Series B: Transcripts and Records of National Conventions, 1946-1974, and of General Councils, 1945-1973; Women's Action Alliance, Part 1: Administration--General, Board of Directors, and Executive Director, 1971-1996; Women's Action Alliance, Part 2: Administration--Publicity and Public Education, WAA Staff, Financial Records, and Development and Fundraising, 1971-1996; Women's Action Alliance, Part 4: Education Projects, 1972-1991; Women's Action Alliance, Part 7: Information Services, 1973-1980; and Women's Action Alliance, Part 8: Library, Publications, and Photographs, 1972-1995.

Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.

A collection of key legal texts (both government documents and non-government documents) curated around several broad topics: Abortion; Biographies of Famous Women; Feminism and Legal Theory; and Legal Rights and Suffrage; Women and Education; Women and Employment; Women and Society; and Women's Bar Association. Also includes collections Periodicals; Scholarly Articles; and a Bibliography of Other Works. Part of HeinOnline.

Documents (essays, speeches, manifestos, court records, correspondence) from the Women's Liberation movement in the United States, 1960s-1970s.

Thousands of television commercials from the firm D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), ca. 1950s-1980s.

Variety of sources, ca. 1514-2010, that document the role of food in world history, with emphasis on North America and Britain. Document types include Cookbooks, menus, advertisements, food labels, pamphlets, ephemera (trading cards, stamps, posters, postcards, scrapbooks (also called "guardbooks" in this collection), marketing reports, business records, maps, photographs, books, periodicals, diaries, correspondence, government documents, realia, episodes of the radio program "Adventures in Gastronomy", and a variety of film footage from Heinz..

TRIAL. Davis was an African American leader in the Communist Party. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Records from the FBI, ATF, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documents from American advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, ca. 1887-2014, with bulk of the documents covering 1945-1990. Documents include advertisements; annual reports and internal brochures; artwork; briefs and scripts; financial data; meeting minutes; memoranda and correspondence; newsletters; newspapers and magazines; product packaging; presentations, writings, and speeches; press releases; research; and reports.

Brochures, posters, guidebooks, maps, ephemera, periodicals, films, correspondence, scrapbooks, travel journals, photographs, postcards, company records, government documents, and monographs documenting the history of tourism on all continents, and organized around the following themes: Women and Tourism; Children and Families; Road, Rail and Air Travel; Accommodation, Hospitality and Entertainment; Package Tours, Cruises and Organized Travel; Beachfront: Seaside and Coastal Destinations; The Great Outdoors; Urban Tourism; Health and Medical Travel; Historical, Cultural or Religious Tourism; International Relations; and Planning and Business. 1850 to the 1980s.

The archives of market research expert Ernest Dichter, along with records from the consulting firms for which he worked. Collection includes Dichter's reports, business correspondence, notes, pilot studies, proposals, and examples of advertisements based on his research. Browse the collection by industry type, or perform keyword searches.

1844-current. Over 800 companies, mostly American.

Oral histories, photographs, films, slideshows, newspaper clippings, archival material, and contextualizing editorial apparatus like essays and timelines. Includes multiple sub-collections: Segregated Seattle; Chicano/a Movement in Washington; LGBTQ Activism in Seattle History Project; Seattle Black Panther Party History and Memory Project; The Ku Klux Klan In Washington State; Farm Workers in Washington State; Filipino Cannery Unionism Across Three Generations 1930s-1980s; Seattle's Asian American Movement; Tyree Scott and the United Construction Workers Association; The Black Student Union at UW; CORE and the Central Area Civil Rights Campaigns; and The 1907 Bellingham Riots.

Newsreels, feature films, and documentaries from 1917 through the Cold War. Films were produced in communist and socialist nations, such as the Soviet Union, Vietnam, China, Korea, Cuba, East Germany, and nations of Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

Comprises four sub-collections: American Social Health Association Records, 1905-1990; "Addict in the Street" Audio Collection (interviews conducted between 1950 and 1970 with drug addicts); The Job is Never Done: 50 Years of Documenting Social Welfare History (an online exhibit); and the annual Social Work Year Book, 1929-1960.

Unpublished, typed minutes (including roll calls and voting records), and published proceedings. Part of the Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO module in ProQuest History Vault.

Oral histories by residents of northeastern Ohio. Several oral histories on labor, strikes, and the steel industry.

International in scope (with heavy emphasis on North America and Europe), the collection is organized around key events and themes, such as internment camps, prison labor, prison riots, juvenile detention, capital punishment, and the economics of mass incarceration. Brings together a variety of document types, such as government documents (including trial documents); institutional records; documentary videos; web content; memoirs, interviews, and personal narratives; pamphlets and ephemera; and literary works. Bulk of the primary sources were created between 1920 and 1950.

Newsreels (commercial and governmental), archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentary films. Includes global coverage of the 20th century, though from an American perspective. Videos were sourced from the Works Progress Administration, the Black Panther Party Library, the Library of Congress, United Newsreel, Universal Newsreel, Chronoscope, United States Information Agency, National Archives and Records Administration, and more.

TRIAL. Documents from the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Part of Archives Unbound.

Over 25,000 movies, including feature films and documentaries.

Almost 4,000 oral histories, including more than 900 interviews with Native Americans (bulk are Seminole, Cherokee, and Creek), as well as significant collection of African American oral histories, with emphasis on civil rights movement in Florida.

Thousands of oral histories. Browse by name of interviewer, interviewee, ethnicity of interviewee, occupation of interviewee, and by project (the oral histories are organized by broad, subject-based projects and sub-projects). Includes original audio recordings. Transcripts are keyword.searchable.

Oral histories documenting Los Angeles history. Not all oral histories listed are available online.

1960s-present. Comics from North America and Europe. Browse by subject (e.g. "Homosexuality" or "Hate Crime"), publisher, or publication date.

Over 5 million films of varying length and genres. Includes the famous film from the famous Prelinger Archive in New York City.

Finding aids for archival collections held by the University Archives, and the Student Life and Culture Archive

Campus Unrest File consisting of clippings from the Daily Illini and handbills, newspapers, leaflets and other publications relating to meetings, rallies, demonstrations, strikes, boycotts, arrests, hearings, Assembly Hall and Illini Union policies, undergraduate and graduate student associations, student affairs committees, housing, visitation, food service, elections, legal services, fees and finances, militarism, the Vietnam War, racism, disciplinary policies and procedures, codes and regulations, university policies, building use, probation and suspension and related topics.

Publications by students in People, "a political education collective," Radical Union and the Print Co-op, including Geek (Feb. - April 1970), Iskra (Sept. 1970), and Free Prairie Press (Nov. 1970 - April 1971) containing articles about national, state, and local events; university policies; protests against national politics in Vietnam; radical movements on campuses; alternative lifestyles; and community affairs. The series includes Geek special issues on Vietnam and women's liberation, notices of events, and position statements.

Student Protests Subject File assembled by Phillip Monypenny and Jo Ann Fley for use by President's Office Administration Reading Room. Contains magazines, reports, mimeographed papers, and other publications, the majority from 1960-70, relating to student protests and issues arising out of them; mainly academic freedom and the role of the university. Included are a set of educational materials from Indiana University Professor Kate Mueller. Also interspersed is a limited amount of correspondence between University of Illinois Pol. Sci. Professor Phillip Monypenny and other academics on topics related to student protests, legal rights, and academic freedom.