Bibliographies
- Anti-Evolution: An Annotated bibliography byCall Number: 016.575 M189AISBN: 0899503135Publication Date: 1988
- Christian Periodical Index byCall Number: 016.2 C46ISBN: 0069-3871Publication Date: 1956-2003Library has 1956-2003. Lists articles, organized by subject, from evangelical and fundamentalist periodicals (American).
Organizational Archives
- American Civil Liberties Union Archives: The Roger Baldwin Years, 1917-1950
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: FILM 323.0973 Am35aISBN: 0842041508Microfilm (293 reels) of the ACLU archives at Princeton University (the largest, but not only, repository of ACLU records in the nation). Key topics in this series include conscientious objectors labor,, freedom of speech, academic freedom, and censorship.
Reel 38 contains the ACLU's correspondence relating to the case and the organization's involvement. Includes correspondence directly with John Scopes. Also includes unsolicited correspondence, both supportive and hostile.
The ACLU collected four volumes of press clippings (mostly newspapers and magazines), along with a small number of pamphlets and correspondence. These volumes can be found on reels 39-40 of the "Roger Baldwin Years" microfilm collection.
Public Opinion
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ArchivesSurvey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.
- Pew Research CenterPublic opinion polls, demographic research, and statistical reports. Bulk of their publications cover 1990-present.
- The Gallup Poll Cumulative Index: Public Opinion, 1935-1997 byCall Number: 301.154 G13indexISBN: 0842025871Publication Date: 1999Gallup polls are currently included in the Roper Center collection, but some might find that this index provides a more orderly (and definitely more granular) way to explore polling subjects. Roper Center offers only broad subject categories, and is intended primarily for keyword searching.
Other Source Collections
- Bryan and Darrow at Dayton The Record and Documents of the "Bible-Evolution Trial" byCall Number: 215 AL5BPublication Date: 1925
- Guide to Digital Collections (History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library)Guide to digitized primary source collections, for the most part collections that are owned or licensed by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library. Organized by broad discipline (History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and African American Studies). History is subdivided by region and time period.
Other Collections
- Education Magazine Archive25 periodicals documenting education in the twentieth century, primarily United States and Australia, but also Europe, with emphasis on professional publications like American Teacher, and Black Collegian.
- Religious Magazine Archive23 periodicals from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, chiefly United States and Britain, including Catholic World and Islamic Horizons.
- The Scopes "Monkey" Trial (Tennessee Virtual Archive)Interviews, photographs, and other records related to the case of the State v. John Scopes.