Introduction
On this page are digital collections of documents that do not fit into any of the traditional categories of library resources. In some cases these collections are mixtures of document types (some books, some periodical issues, some newspaper clippings); in other cases they are digital collections of unpublished sources, typically found in archives, and in fact many of these collections are simply digitized archival collections, and are organized like archival collections. Some knowledge of archival organization will therefore be helpful to you in using these collections.
You can find more digital collections by using our Digital Collections Guide:
- Guide to Digital Collections (History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library)Guide to digitized primary source collections, for the most part collections that are owned or licensed by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library. Organized by broad discipline (History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and African American Studies). History is subdivided by region and time period.
1960s
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism1968-1979 . FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Digitized from the 26 reel microfilm collection, FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Part of Archives Unbound.
- American Radicalism Collection at Michigan State UniversityBooks, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera documenting American radicalism, including sub-collections like Wounded Knee, American Indian Movement, Students For a Democratic Society, Ku Klux Klan, and Black Panthers.
- The Anatomy of a Police Riot, Chicago, U.S.ADocuments the 1968 riots at the Democrat National Convention.
- Fifth Avenue Vietnam Peace Parade Committee Records, 1965-1971TRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Fred Halstead Papers, 1956-1978TRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- The Free Speech Movement Digital ArchivesDocuments from the Free Speech Movement at the University of California, Berkeley, September-December 1964.
- Herman Baca CollectionDigitized from the Herman Baca Papers at University of California at San Diego. Baca was a Chicano rights activist, ca. 1964-2006.
- I WAS THERE: The 1968 Democratic National Convention Oral History Project33 oral histories from individuals who witnessed the protests at the 1968 Democrat National Convention in Chicago.
- Joseph A. Labadie Collection of Social ProtestAnarchist pamphlets, posters, photographs, ephemera, and the newsletter of the Selma Inter-Religious Project. The collection documents social protest movements, mostly in the United States. Movements include anarchism, civil liberties, communism, socialism, labor, feminism, pacifism, environmentalism, and student protest. Bulk of the collection dates from the 1960s and later.
- Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Emphasis on protest and social change. Archival material from the Browne Popular Culture Library (Bowling Green State University), the Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), the British National Archives, the University of Sussex Library, and the Rock Source Archive.
- Roz Payne Sixties ArchiveUnderground periodicals, pamphlets, leaflets, posters, photographs, realia, and newsreels.
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.
- The Sixties ProjectScholarship, memoirs, manifestos, bibliographies, images of artifacts, and links to other sources on the Internet.
- Students for a Democratic Society Papers, 1958-1970TRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Johnson Administration's Response to Anti-Vietnam War Activities, Part 1: White House Aides' FilesTRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Johnson Administration's Response to Anti-Vietnam War Activities, Part 2: White House Central FilesTRIAL. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Political Activities of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969, Part 1: White House Central and Confidential FilesTRIAL. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Political Activities of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969, Part 2: White House Aides, Series A. Office Files of Marvin WatsonTRIAL. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Records of the National Commission on the Causes and Prevention of Violence, Part 1: Executive FilesTRIAL. Records from the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Records of the National Commission on the Causes and Prevention of Violence, Part 2: Special InvestigationsTRIAL. Records from the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Confidential File of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969, Part 1: Confidential Subject and Name FilesTRIAL. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Confidential File of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969, Part 2: Confidential Reports FileTRIAL. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- FBI Records: The VaultA large collection of the files and records most recently requested by Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Examples: Weather Underground, Black Panther Party, Dorothy Day, Mississippi Burning, Elijah Muhammad, and more. Suspected communists and socialists were frequently investigated.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ArchivesSurvey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.
Women's Suffrage
- Anna E. Dickinson PapersGeographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1860-1915.
Document types: Correspondence, speeches, writings, a legal file, financial papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and research notes of Dickinson's biographer, Giraud Chester..
Topical coverage: Women's suffrage.
Source Institution: Library of Congress. - Legal Rights and Suffrage Digital CollectionDigital library of monographs, periodicals, treatises, court filings (mostly amicus briefs), government documents, and reference works on the movement for women's suffrage and women's rights. Emphasis on United States and Britain. Part of HeinOnline.
- Margaret Sanger Papers: Collected DocumentsTRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College CollectionsTRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection800 books and pamphlets, ca. 1890-1938, documenting the fight for women's suffrage.
- National American Woman Suffrage Association RecordsOver 2,000 documents from the archives of the National Woman Suffrage Association, held by the Library of Congress, ca. 1890-1930.
- National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 1: Correspondence, Section A: 1877-1933Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 2: Minutes, Legal Papers, and Financial Records, 1912-1972Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 3: Printed Materials, 1850-1972Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt1904-1947. From the collections of the Library of Congress. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt (Library of Congress)Diaries, correspondence, speeches, clippings, realia.
- Susan B. Anthony PapersCorrespondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and ephemera, ca. 1846 to 1906. From the Library of Congress.
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, Series 1: Woman's Suffrage, Part A: National LeadersTRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, Series 1: Woman's Suffrage, Part B: New YorkTRIAL ENDED. Records may be available on microfilm. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
- Women's Suffrage in Sheet MusicCa. 1838-1923.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.
- Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party450 photographs, ca. 1875 to 1938, from the Records of the National Woman's Party archive at the Library of Congress.
- Women Working, 1800-1930Over 3,100 books, pamphlets, magazines, trade catalogs, diaries, memoirs, and institutional archives, as well as 1,400 photographs, all from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting women's work in the United States.
- Women’s Liberation Movement Print CultureDocuments (essays, speeches, manifestos, court records, correspondence) from the Women's Liberation movement in the United States, 1960s-1970s.