Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Improving Your Research Skills

This guide will help you improve your research skills through searching library databases, searching Google, and evaluating sources.

What is a Library Database?

Library databases collect resources from a variety of places, including academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and others. You can search a library database to find these resources.

 

  • Library databases are free through the library website for UIUC students
  • Databases are accessible 24/7, even when the library isn’t open
  • They are a great place to find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources
  • The library has both multi-subject and subject-specific databases

Accessing Library Databases

You can access library databases by going to the Databases By Subject and A-Z page on the library website.

The library homepage with Databases by Subject and A-Z

 

Academic Search Ultimate is a multi-subject database that many students use to start their research.

List of databases with arrow pointing to Academic Search ultimate

 

To find subject-specific databases, click the “By Subject” dropdown on the left hand side of the screen and choose a subject.

A-Z Databases showing list of subjects