Narrow Your Search to Books at Uni Library
Here is how to find books at Uni using the UIUC Online Catalog.
1. First do a search in the UIUC Online Catalog.
2. Once you have your search results, use the sidebar on the right side to limit your search results by LOCATION.
3. Write down the call number and search the stacks at Uni for your book!
Finding Books Online
- Library Catalog (VuFind)Searches in our local (University of Illinois) catalog.
- I-Share CatalogI-Share includes the resources of 86 Illinois libraries belonging to CARLI.
- WorldCatSearches for items in libraries across the world.
Online News Sources
- Current Newspapers DatabaseA newspaper guide with links to full text from recent articles in New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal; additionally it links to several big newspaper databases like LexisNexis Academic, EBSCO Newspaper Source, Proquest International Newsstand.
- Washington Post Monkey CageA political scientist blog published by the Washington Post.
- The EconomistThe Economist online offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. The site maintains a searchable online archive that dates back June 1997. They also offer a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programs.
- The AtlanticThe Atlantic covers news and analysis on politics, business, culture, technology, national, international and life on the official site of The Atlantic Magazine.
- VoxA wonky left-of-center news analysis website that often does a very good job “translating” academic studies for the layperson. The Vox ‘explainers’ are often quite insightful.
- The GuardianCovering American and international news for an online, global audience.
- The HillThe Hill is a US political website, read by the White House and lawmakers -- vital for policy, politics and election campaigns.
- The Fiscal TimesThe Fiscal Times (TFT) is a digital news, opinion and media service offering reporting on fiscal policy, economic and consumer issues.
Creating Citations
Create citations in APA, MLA or Chicago Style using a step-by-step process.
Photo by http *Colin*6666*
Google Scholar
This service is Google's method of searching the invisible web. To see the full text of many of these sources, you need to be "authenticated" as a legitimate UIUC user. Do so by searching for the source title on the A-Z list of electronic journals and newspapers. Also try the advanced search.
Other databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(Academic Search Ultimate classic*) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. *(best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
