Introduction
This page is divided into two sections: research methods and research guides.
- The methodology resources collected here can help you design and conduct your own research as well as better understand the methods used by other researchers in your field.
- Research guides and bibliographies provide an overview of the research done on a topic and are often quite comprehensive. Often broken down into subtopics, they can give you a head start on finding related material and help you decide what sources to read next.
Research Methods
-
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
-
Performing Music Research: methods in music education, psychology, and performance science
by
Call Number: Online and MT1 .W674 2021The book examines the approaches and strategies that underpin research in music education, psychology, and performance science. It reviews the knowledge and skills needed to critique existing studies in these fields and to design and carry out new investigations. Perspectives on qualitative, quantitative, and multistrategy methodologies are highlighted across the book. -
Research Methodologies in Music Education
by
Call Number: MT1 .R464 2014Location: Music & Performing Arts -
Diverse Methodologies in the Study of Music Teaching and Learning
by
Call Number: MT1 .D584 2008Location: Music & Performing Arts -
Design and Analysis for Quantitative Research in Music Education
by
Call Number: MT1 .M54 2018Although new and sophisticated techniques for large-scale data analyses have become commonplace in generaleducational, psychological, sociological, and econometric fields, many researchers in music education have yet to be exposed to such techniques. Design and Analysis of Quantitative Research in Music Education is a comprehensive reference for those involved with research in music education and related fields, providing a foundational understanding of quantitative inquiry methods. -
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning
by
Call Number: MT1 .M35O92 2011The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volumes 1 and 2 brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and in different contexts.
Research Guides
You can find handbooks, guides, and bibliographies on a variety of topics relating to music education through the library. We've highlighted several resources below, but you can find additional materials by searching for your topic AND "research guide", "bibliography", or "handbook" in the Library catalog.
In particular, you might want to explore the Oxford Handbooks on Music Education Series (linked below).
-
Oxford Handbooks on Music Education SeriesA series that highlights a variety of interdisciplinary perspectives on music education.
For a sampling of music education guides to get you started, check out the list below!
-
Music Education Research: An Introduction
by
Call Number: Online ResourcePrint copy located at Main Stacks - MT1 .M55 2023
Designed to be used as a primary text in introductory research methods courses, Music Education Research: An Introduction aims to orient even the most novice researchers toward basic concepts and methodologies. -
A Guide to Research in Music Education, 5th ed.
by
Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating MT1 P43G82005A new chapter concerning music and technology covers the current available resources for students and researchers. Other updates include separate chapters on philosophical inquiry and aesthetic inquiry becoming integrated, formulating and implementing research problems, and aligning qualitative research with recent concepts and techniques. -
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning
by
Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating MT1 N479Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. -
Research in Music Education: An Introduction to Systematic Inquiry
by
Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating MT1 R24This book is a reflection of our collective experiences in teaching research to both beginning and advanced graduate music education students. These experiences include introducing master-level students to basic concepts of research, developing skills of critical analysis in doctoral students, and guiding doctoral candidates in dissertation work. -
Music in American Higher Education: An Annotated Bibliography
by
Call Number: Online and MPAL Reference Non-circulating ML120.U5 B79 -
A Bibliography of Source Readings in Music Education
by
Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating ML128.I64 K36
Conducting Research with People
If you plan to conduct research involving people (surveys, student observation, focus groups, etc.) you should contact the University's Office for the Protection of Research Subjects (OPRS) (formerly the Institutional Review Board or IRB office). You will need to undergo training and receive approval to conduct your research PRIOR to beginning it--especially if you plan to publish it in any form.
Check out the Does my study need IRB approval? page to determine if you need to go through the approval process and what steps are required. OPRS also has helpful checklists and a glossary to help you navigate unfamiliar terms during the submission process.