* Click on the name of a specific database to open it in a new window
Cindas LLC is a private company formed exclusively to disseminate materials properties data collected and analyzed by the Center for Information and Numerical Data Analysis and Synthesis (CINDAS) at Purdue University. The specific databases available to UIUC students through Cindas include:
ASMD (Aerospace Structural Metals Database) – Metal alloy database containing more than 230 light-weight, high strength alloys and their associated properties.
CLTD (Cryogenic and Low Temperatures Database) – Consists of thermophysical, mechanical, electrical, and other properties of over 2,000 materials in the temperature range from 0 K to 273 K.
DTDH (Damage Tolerant Design Handbook (PDF)) – A comprehensive compilation of fracture and crack growth data for high strength alloys.
MCMD (Microelectronics and Composite Materials Database) – This database is the upgraded and expanded version of the MPMD. It contains everything in the MPMD plus much new data on more than 200 composite materials, including ceramic matrix composites, both particulate and whisker reinforced as well as GLARE materials (Glass Laminate Aluminum Reinforced Epoxy also known as GLAss REinforced laminate).
SAH (Structural Alloys Handbook (PDF)) – Handbook information to assist in selection of alloys for construction, heavy equipment, automotive and other applications.
TPMD (Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database) – Thermophysical and thermoradiative properties of more than 5,200 materials in more than 90 general material groups.
The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.
This text is focused on synthetic polymers with little reference to biological macromolecules per se but the science underpins both physical and biological systems.
The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field.
This publication presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focusing on the following areas:
This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Springer Materials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
Fully updated with the most recent design codes, standards, and specifications, Structural Steel Designer's Handbook, Fifth Edition, provides a convenient, single source of the latest information essential to the practical design of steel structures.
This book serves as a reference for engineers, scientists, and students concerned with the use of materials in applications where reliability and resistance to corrosion are important.