Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical Science & Engineering Online Handbooks & Reference
These e-Books are available to University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign patrons. You will be asked to log-in if they are accessed off-campus.
ASM Handbooks Online
Comprehensive source for information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology; contains data on metals properties and performance.
CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
Covers background and current information on important mechanical engineering topics, for practicing engineers in industry.
CRC Handbook of Thermal Engineering
Emphasizes applications in thermal design and computer solutions of thermal engineering problems.
Damage Tolerant Design Handbook (DTDH)
A collection of fracture and crack growth data for high strength alloys. Produced by CINDAS.
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics
Offers theoretical and practical information about computational methods in applied mechanics.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Covers field of materials science, including theory, practice, and socioeconomic and humanistic aspects.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials
Includes information about materials and structures that can impact information about their environment to an observer or monitoring device.
Fuel Cell Technology Handbook
Technical and commercial aspects of high and low temperature fuel cells, fuel cell systems, fuel cell catalysis, and fuel generation.
Handbook of Lubrication and Tribology: Application and Maintenance
Provides facts, figures, and equations as well as the latest technology related to application and maintenance procedures.
Handbook of Micro/Nano Tribology
Basic information, as well as design, construction, and applications to magnetic storage devices and MEMS.
Harris' Shock and Vibration Handbook
Includes theory, measurement, testing, design, and control methodologies, and practical applications.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Intended to help solve analytical, design, and application-related mechanical engineering problems.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook
Covers areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and principles, data, and calculations.
Mechanical Systems Design Handbook
Focuses specifically on needs of designers and engineers in industrial settings, and provides a practical overview of basic issues associated with design and control of mechanical systems.
MEMS Materials and Processes Handbook
Provides a comprehensive catalog of various MEMS processes, each with a brief introduction to the technology, as well as examples of common uses.
Standard Handbook of Machine Design
Design handbook for mechanical engineers, product designers, project engineers, design engineers, and manufacturing engineers.
Structural Alloys Handbook (SAH)
Information on selecting metals and alloys. Produced by CINDAS.
Engineering E-Books by Publisher
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.
Electronic versions of several CRC reference sources, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Includes electronic versions of CRC Press engineering handbooks.
Grainger Engineering Library's Handbook Page
A list of online handbooks available by subject area.
Springer Materials The Landolt-Bornstein Database
A systematic and comprehensive evaluation of selected and critically evaluated data in all areas of physical sciences & engineering.
Note on Electronic Resources
Many electronic resources provided by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign are subscription services available only to university patrons. If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be required to log in with your NetID and password when following a link from the Library web page. If you go directly to a subscription resource from an off-campus computer, you will not have access. You will need to find the resource through the Library web page in order to gain entry.
If you need any help accessing materials, please contact a reference librarian at the Grainger Engineering Library at (217) 333-3576 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.