How to Find Scholarly Articles
Find scholarly articles using databases and journals. We have pulled out a few key LER databases and a selection of journals from different areas of LER for this guide. You can use keyword searching to narrow in on your topic. Databases are better for larger searches, and can search dozens of journals at once, whereas individual journals are better if you have a specific article or narrower topic in mind.
Selection of LER Journals
Core LER resources
- Daily Labor ReportDaily Labor Report, from Bloomberg Law, gives reports daily regarding current labor law news. Available on campus only.
- Human Resources ReportProvides reports regarding human resources and the law. Through Bloomberg Law -- Available on campus only.
- Labor & Employment Practice CenterFind Practical Guidance Toolkits and Reference Materials for business matters including creating employee handbooks, implementing workplace nondiscrimination policies, participating in collective bargaining, navigating state & local laws, navigating hiring and termination, and more. Through Bloomberg Law -- Available on campus only.
- BNA's Health Care Daily ReportHealth Care Daily Report provides daily updates and reporting regarding current health law news. Through Bloomberg Law -- Available on campus only.
Key LER Databases
- A-Z Databases - Labor & Employment RelationsLibrary's A-Z Databases list filtered by LER subject.
- Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Human Resources Abstracts in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).From help page: Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Human Resources, Human Resource Management, and Human Resource Development International. Use Human Resources Abstracts in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a mixture of practical and theoretical business content including company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Business Source Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: SocINDEX with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
- Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Available on campus only. Bloomberg Law uses data analytics and artificial intelligence for online legal research. The service provides legal content, proprietary company information and news information. Bloomberg Law combines the legal content and tools for law school class preparation, with the advanced features and business intelligence for any student on campus to research for job seeking purposes. Paid research for corporations is not permitted.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: EconLit with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics, plus full text for more than 560 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.
- Economist Historical Archive, The This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to .... New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. The Economist Historical Archive complements the Times Digital Archive also available from Gale/Cengage Learning.
- Gale: Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowProvides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and to discover and analyze content in new ways.
- Research Source: Business, Economic and Labour History This link opens in a new windowThis module contains primary sources covering key subjects within the historical field of business, labor, and economics, including Keynesian economic policy in post-war Britain; international labor movements; the London Stock Exchange; and the papers of important economists.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801