Introduction
This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Materials Available at MPAL
Below are a few examples of the Harpsichord bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL or by request through the online catalog.
-
Harpsichord and Clavichord Music of the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: ML128.H35 B42This bibliography gives essential information on some 5,400 works for harpsichord and 174 works for clavichord. In addition to solo compositions it cites a wide array of chamber, orchestra, vocal, dance, tape, and film music. Works are indexed by composers and titles, by performers who gave premieres, and by female composers. -
A Catalogue of French Harpsichord Music 1699-1780
by
Call Number: ML128.H35 G87This catalogue, the most complete bibliography of its kind, contains entries for all printed harpsichord music known to have existed in France in the period 1699-1780, including over 230 volumes and 150 manuscripts. It offers precise transcriptions of title pages, full contents, dating, locations, editions, facsimiles, evaluations in the contemporary press, identifications of dedicatees, and stylistic comments. Indexes and appendices provide alphabetical listings of individual titles as well as listings by date, medium, and composer. -
Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers
by
Call Number: ML128.O6 O73This reference work catalogs music for organ and harpsichord written by more than 700 women composers from 40 countries. Compiler Adel Heinrich has expanded the organ and harpsichord repertoire to include choir and instruments accompanying organ and harpsichord. In addition to biographies for each woman, Heinrich supplies listings of individual compositions, and includes descriptions and sources whenever possible. -
Modern Harpsicord Music
by
Call Number: ML156.4.H3 E47A discography and bibliography of music written for the modern harpsichord, this volume features more than 800 mass-marketed recordings of some 600 compositions written after the revival of the harpsichord (ca. 1889). Also included is information pertaining to performances of compositions arranged for harpsichord.
The following are some examples of materials on harpsichord instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.
-
Technique and Interpretation on the Harpsichord and Clavichord
by
Call Number: 786.30421 T743TTroeger includes information on fingering, articulation, ornamentation, dynamics, and phrasing gleaned from early treatises, as well as from his own performance experience. He combines purely practical suggestions with musical and interpretive ideas, and touches on the interrelationships among these elements that will add to the player's understanding and meaningful performance. -
Playing the Harpsichord Expressively
by
Call Number: MT252 K76P5The goal of this resource is to teach the art of expressive harpsichord playing to those who have had experience on the instrument, and also to pianists and organists who love the repertoire and want to play it on the keyboard instrument for which it was composed. Presented together with quotes from the most important primary sources on the instrument, the book contains more than 100 musical examples in an easily-accessible format and one of the most comprehensive bibliographies available. -
Playing the Harpsichord
by
Call Number: MT252 S36P5This concise volume by an expert is not only a practical manual for the performer but also an authoritative history of the instrument. In covering the essentials of performance practice and musical style for the classical repertoire, the text provides important suggestions for mastering basic touch, fingering, articulation and phrasing, rhythm and tempo, ornaments such as the trill, slide, turn, and arpeggio; ensemble playing; and other fundamentals. "Very well produced and much to be recommended." — Music and Letters. -
The harpsichord, an introduction to technique, style, and the historical sources.
by
Call Number: 786.221 H224KE
