Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources Online
Magill OnLiterature Plus
A definitive online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses. It also includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature.
Literature Criticism Online
A digitized collection of ten Gale series solely comprised of literary criticism. These series include the following topics: contemporary literature, 20th century lit., 19th century lit., Shakespeare, lit. from 1400-1800, classical and medieval lit., poetry, short stories, drama, and children's literature.
Literature Resource Center - LRC
Identifies biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Coverage of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Select Literature from the Subject list to search and browse literature reference sources.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes literary criticism from 1963 to the present.
Searches full-text for back-file articles and reviews in over 130 multi-disciplinary journals. See Project Muse (below) for more recent articles.
Searches full-text in over 150 journals supplied by 10 university presses. Click on the search button to start your search. Muse works well for more recent periodical issues, while JSTOR (see above) reproduces older volumes.
Academic Search Premier
General periodical database.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Database of book titles, reviews, award lists, etc.
UIUC Online Catalog - Searches all UIUC libraries.
If a book is not available at UIUC . . .
- I-Share - Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including UIUC.
- WorldCat - Searches for items in libraries throughout the world.
Mr. Mitchell's blog & wiki
Find copies of assignments and other useful course information.