Regulatory information for manufacturers in Ohio.

News source of information on technologies and new trends

The Association for PRINT Technologies (APTech℠), formerly known as NPES, is a purpose-driven organization dedicated to supporting the entire printing value chain.

Fact sheet provides a brief description of some OSHA record keeping and training regulation steps

Provides basic understanding of various record keeping requirements mandated by EPA.

Discusses biochemical alternatives to toxic petrochemicals used in the printing industry. Includes case studies and references. (PDF Format; Length: 15 pages)

Describes alternative cleaning methods for anilox rollers and outlines the regulatory concerns associated with using solvents for cleaning. (PDF Format; Length: 5 pages)

An explanation of the benefits of an EMS for printers. Written by Jeffrey R. Adrian.

Written by Doreen Monteleone, Ph.D., of the Flexographic Technical Association, this fact sheet describes environmental considerations in the use of various photopolymer flexographic plate development processes.

This fact sheet offers environmental marketing tips.

A list of printing industry periodicals, etc. for additional reference

Environmental information on various types of paper, recycled content standards, and regulatory information.

Fourth edition of Monadnock Paper Mills' instructional how-to guide for creating more sustainable print materials.

Includes links to "Flexible Packaging Lightweighting Strategies and Innovation" and "Lightweight Advances in Flexible Packaging: FPA Member Case Stories."

A list of flexible packaging industry statistics for the United States of America.

Monthly magazine offering information for the flexible packaging industry.

Provides industry information & resources for the flexographic printing industry.

A comparative evaluation of solvent-based, water-based, and ultra-violet cured ink technologies on wide-web film substrates.

The Flexographic Technical Association, Inc. (FTA) is the leading technical society devoted exclusively to the flexographic printing industry

This case study highlights the experience of Highland Supply Corporation (HSC) with reducing volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions and hazardous wastes by switching inks.

Magazine of the Flexographic Technical Association.

Describes the Design for the Environment Flexography Project. (PDF Format; Length: 2 pages)

FPA has developed a “Tool Kit” for its members to use to educate customers and other stakeholders about the Sustainability Advantages of Flexible Packaging. Included are: The Battelle Sustainability Assessment of Flexible Packaging Report; Flexible Packaging Sustainability Advantages Resource Guide; The FPA Case Stories Brochure; The FPA Fast Facts Brochure; The FPA Sustainability and Flexible Packaging Brochure; Individual Case Stories; The FPA Flex Pack Rap Video; Flexible Packaging: A Sustainable Solution PowerPoint Presentation; and the FPA sustainability logos.

Allows the user to list the most frequently cited Federal or State OSHA standards for a NAICS code.

Features industry news, new technologies and upcoming events

an environmentally friendly printing and graphic communications company dedicated to helping individuals and organizations promote themselves in more sustainable ways.

Explains basic information included on an MSDS form.

Describes the technical and economic efforts incurred by a flexographic label printing company that changed the type of ink and cleaning agent used in its print shop. The changes were incurred as the best way to eliminate all hazardous materials. (PDF Format; Length: 43 pages)

Presents the steps that three wide web flexographic printers took to reduce their VOC emissions. Includes factors considered in management decisions and how the decisions were implemented. The two methods tried were switching to water-based inks and installing an oxidizer.

Many flexographic printers are switching to water-based ink technology to reduce volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions. This fact sheet describes alternatives for handling the wastes associated with water-based inks. (PDF format; Length: 7 pages)

General guidance on reducing and managing solvent wastes for printers. (PDF format; Length: 4 pages)

Information presented in this publication is intended to provide a general understanding of the statutory and regulatory requirements governing parts washing. This information is not intended to replace, limit or expand upon the complete statutory and regulatory requirements found in the Illinois Environmental Protection Act and Title 35 of the Illinois Administrative Code.

Air monitoring information for the printing industry from U.S. EPA.

Outlines the waste reduction and P2 accomplishments of the Neenah Printing Division of Menasha Corporation in Neenah, WI. Neenah Printing does lithographic web and sheetfed printing as well as wide web flexographic printing. PDF Format; Length: 5 pages.

A summary of the energy efforts (Green Lights/Energy Star) at a Pennsylvania print facility, which resulted in a $21,000 savings.

Written by Gary Jones of the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation. Federal regulatory information related to PBTs. (PDF format; Length: 12 pages)

This report highlights the experiences with water-base ink versus solventi-base ink of three flexographic printing facilities. The primary purpose of this study was to analyze the motivations of the facilities in selecting their specific pollution prevention methods

Contains common P2 practices for printing and several case studies. Lithography, flexograhy, gravure, letterpress, and screen-printing are described in depth, along with major P2 concerns associated with each.

P2 self-assessment checklist to help printers learn how to reduce waste and increase efficiency.

Discusses and explains elements in the OSHA Hazard Communication Program

A directory of state and regional printing compliance & P2 manuals

Thorough overview, essential background document. Includes P2 opportunities, compliance issues, specific regulatory information, and statistical overview.

Provides an overview of the basic federal regulations covering wastes that are likely to be hazardous in your business. It also provides recycling and pollution prevention options to help businesses decrease the amount of hazardous waste they produce.

Offers basic record keeping information for EPA, RCRA and OSHA. (PDF Format; Length: 15 pages)

Explains the environmental benefits of moving from an open to an enclosed ink delivery and metering system. (PDF format; Length: 5 pages)

A wide web flexographic printing firm in New York substituted water-based inks for solvent-based inks when manufacturing flexible packaging, using plastic sheet substrates (e.g., plastic bags for bread).

This case study describes how a flexographic packaging printer eliminated the use of solvents in cleaning removable press components by switching to carbon dioxide blasting.

Links to state regulations, searchable databases.

1996 summary of state's positions on the regulatory status of disposable soiled shop towels and wipes.

Sun Chemical has announced a breakthrough in water-based ink technology for flexographic printing on polythene (PE) film. The company's new approach offers a viable and cost-effective alternative to solvent-based inks, and allows printers to comply with pending European legislation that will affect the industry while printing up to 600 meters per minute.

The Flexographic Technical Association offers programs that can help make printers and suppliers become more sustainable. This includes support of certification by the Sustainable Green Printing Partnership and providing information on relevant environmental, health and safety topics.

Summary of release reporting components of 1996 TRI report. (PDF format; Length: 20 pages)

TPCH was formed in 1992 to promote the Model Toxics in Packaging Legislation. This legislation is designed to phase out the use and presence of mercury, lead, cadmium & hexavalent chromium in packaging within four years in states that enact it.

A cardboard box manufacturer and printer has trained its employees in "good housekeeping" practices and significantly reduced ink wastes and wastewater generated when cleaning the printing presses.

Discusses revisions to air pollution permitting requirements. (PDF format; Length: 10 pages)

Detailed information on how Universal Waste Rules apply to a printing operation.

Written by Dale Patterson, this article describes how Alliance Packing of Sacramento, CA switched to plastic blast media to clean ink pumps, pans and other press components, resulting in both environmental and monetary benefits.

As more UV curing inkjet printers come to market, the safety aspects of these new inks and printing systems need to be understood by those considering a purchase. To protect both production workers and print customers, safeguards must be put in place. The major safety issues with UV-curable inks, unlike solvent printers’ flammability and high levels of vapors, are skin irritation, inhalation of reactive materials from the printing and curing process, and eye damage.

Describes key findings of an EPA pilot project to assist small and medium-sized manufacturers who want to minimize waste generation; pilot plant manufactures spiral wound labels for commercial use and flexible packaging for foods.

Water-based inks provide an alternative to solvents and a means of eliminating both pollution and many of the regulatory constraints on the printer. Describes Control Technology Guidelines (CTGs), status of water-based inks in the marketplace, water-based ink conversion barriers, and basic requirements for converting to waterborne inks. Written by Fred Shapiro.

Discusses volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and products containing VOCs that are commonly used in printing.

Explains how to determine if a waste is classified as hazardous. Focuses on wastes commonly generated by printers.