What is the new Library Search?
Library Search provides access to a majority of the Library's resources, including:
- Physical and electronic materials, such as books, journals, newspapers, DVDs, streaming media, textbooks, maps, music scores, government documents, and more
- Individual articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and databases
- Local digital collections, such as IDEALS and the University of Illinois Library Digital Collections
Important: Sign In to your account to see content from Scopus and Web of Science.
Access Library Search from the Library's home page and move the toggle on the Easy Search box to the right next to the words Library Search. Please note that your toggle selection will be sticky; that is, your browser will remember your choice next time you visit the library's home page.
Next, type in your search or article/book/other item title in the search box and click on the Search button:
What features does Library Search offer?
With Library Search you can:
- Find information across a variety of formats and from multiple resources with one interface
- Refine your results to electronic resources, peer reviewed items, open access titles, and physical collections by availability, location, resource type, publication year, subject, genre, and more
- Sign in to access your account and to request items, renew loans, and view saved results and searches
- Export items to EndNote and Zotero
The different ways to refine are located on the left, including Availability (online, peer-reviewed journals, open access); Resource Type (magazine articles, newspaper articles, journal articles, reviews); what library the item is held in (if a physical item like a book or microfilm), and by Subject Heading, to name a few options:
What is not included in Library Search?
Library Search contains many, but not all, of the online resources available in the Library’s electronic collections. Scopus and Web of Science database content is included in the results, but you must sign in to see these results. Many smaller, subject-specific databases are not included. To search for additional titles not included in this tool, use the subject specific tools found in the Library’s A-Z Databases list.