Introduction
To search for printed music, conducting a keyword search in the library catalog for a composer, instrument, or style is always a great place to start. Use the "Material Type" filter on the advanced search screen to limit your results to "Scores." For more help, see our Finding Music Materials guide.
Remember that you can always use the topics listed in the record to find similar materials (just as you would for books!).
This page includes some suggested subject headings to help you browse the online catalog as well as call numbers to help you browse the shelves in person.
Helpful Topics for Browsing the Catalog
Recommended subject headings for electronic and digital music scores are:
- Electronic Music
- Computer Music
- Music for Percussion and Electronics
- Avant-garde Music
- Aleatoric Music
- Film Music
- Music for Piano and Electronics
- Musique Concrete
Make sure you've limited "Material Type" to "Scores"
Suggested Call Numbers for Browsing
The following call numbers can be used as a starting point to help you to browse the shelves for printed music located in the Music & Performing Arts Library.
The score collection is located on the second floor of MPAL, but please not that method books (call numbers that start with "MT" will be located on the first floor). If you have trouble finding what you need, ask at the service desk and someone can direct you or walk you to the right shelf.
- Orchestral Electronic Music: M1045
- Percussion with Electronic Tape: M175
- Electronic Music: M1473
- Film Music: M1527
- Instruments with Electronic Tape: M298
- Chance Compositions: M1470
- Music for Tape: M285.E
- Dance Music: M1450
Online Resources for Scores
Need to look for scores online? Check out the digital resources below for a place to start.
- IMSLP / Petrucci Music LibraryCollection of printed music in the public domain.
- Music OnlineMusic Online is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
- Library Music SourceLibraryMusicSource offers an expansive selection of music resources for musicians, students, teachers and music lovers around the world. This comprehensive collection of digital sheet music includes obscure and hard-to-find pieces along with all the beloved classics. In addition to this vast catalog includes an extensive range of vocal solos, opera scores, orchestral parts and so much more!
- Daniels' Orchestral Music OnlineOrchestral Music Online provides:
- Access to information on more than 12,300 works by more than 1,900 composers
- Quick search by composer, title, or keyword
- Advanced search by duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists
- Ability to cut and paste data into rehearsal schedules and other documents to save time and to eliminate transcription errors.
- Links from individual works to music publishers and other sources
- Links to online perusals scores, program notes, recordings etc.