Physical Sciences
-
Academies of Science Publications1665-1925. Over 3,500 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Astronomy and AstrophysicsAlmost 700 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Color Theory and PracticeAlmost 300 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Digital Archives of Philosophical Texts on the NETTexts relevant to the study of philosophy and the history of science. No longer updated
-
Electricity and ElectromagnetismOver 1,500 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Mathematics1,725 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Photographs from the Science Museum1646-1920. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Life Sciences
-
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence1812-1924. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Entomology1750-1925. 537 books from the Bruce Peel Special Collections Library at the University of Alberta. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Evolution and the Origin of SpeciesAlmost 650 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Natural History1780-1925. 1,238 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Photographs from the Science Museum1646-1920. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) Digital ArchivesCommittee minutes and other documents of the RAI, along with other manuscript material, photos, and maps, ca. nineteenth century to the present.
Medicine and Public Health
-
American Medical Periodicals, 1797-1900Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
The Bush Administration and the AIDS CrisisGeographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1989-1993.
Document types: Letters, reports, memoranda, articles, government documents, petitions, and all other manner of published and published documents that informed decision making during the George H.W. Bush Administration.
Topical coverage: HIV/AIDS crisis and government response.
Source institution: George Bush Presidential Library.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender. -
Charles Glen King PapersBiochemist and prominent investigator in nutrition. Topics covered include King's life; his work and the work of his competitor Albert Szent-Györgyi on vitamin C; and the Nutrition Foundation. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and EpidemicsBooks, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting nine major themes in the history of medicine: Cholera Epidemics in the 19th Century; the Great Plague of London, 1665; the Boston Smallpox Epidemic, 1721; "Pestilence" and the Printed Books of the Late 15th Century; Spanish Influenza in North America, 1918–1919; Syphilis, 1494–1923; Tropical Diseases and the Construction of the Panama Canal, 1904–1914; Tuberculosis in Europe and North America, 1800–1922; the Yellow Fever Epidemic in Philadelphia, 1793.
-
Development of Environmental Health Policy: Pope A. Lawrence Papers 1924-1983TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.
-
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the history of disability around the world. Document types include video recordings; histories; biographies; reference works; artwork; literary works; personal narratives, oral histories, diaries, and interviews; correspondence; organizational records; government documents; posters, pamphlets, brochures, and ephemera; curricular documents; research reports; periodicals and newspapers; speeches; photographs; and more. Covers 1492-present, with bulk of documents from the twentieth century.
-
FDA Notices of Judgment, 1908-1966Published federal notices of judgment (a summary of the final outcome of a court case) for manufacturers and products prosecuted under authority of the 1906 Pure Food and Drug Act. The judgments summarize the government's case about a product's adulteration or misbranding and the court's decision. Four categories exist: Foods and Drugs, 1908-1943; Drugs and Devices, 1940-1963; Cosmetics, 1940-1964; Foods, 1940-1966. Each case is linked to an accompanying Evidence Files Archival Collection. From the National Library of Medicine.
From the National Library of Medicine. -
Global History of Epidemics, 1800-1970Through a range of sources including correspondence, official reports, diagrams, photographs and film footage, researchers can explore developments in disease prevention, outbreak management, sanitation and public welfare as well as track the spread and treatment of major epidemics and pandemics across the globe in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
-
In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1983-1994.
Document types: Briefing books, reports, hearing transcripts, records of site visits, press releases, correspondence, and other organizational records. Some documents in the archive predate the organization's founding.
Topical coverage: HIV/AIDS and government response.
Source Institution: National Library of Medicine (United States).
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender. -
J. David Latham Psychological SurveysGeographic coverage: California.
Date range: 1950-1986.
Document types: Psychological studies of homosexuals, psychological surveys, research papers, correspondence, administrative materials, research materials, audio recordings, correspondence, and miscellaneous writings.
Topical coverage: Homosexuality.
Source Institution: ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender. -
Jessie Groves Digital ArchiveGeographic coverage: Indiana.
Date range: 1915-1977.
Document types: Photographs; oral histories.
Topical coverage: Jessie Groves, a female nurse at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Source institution: Indiana University Library. -
Leonidas H. Berry PapersThe collection includes correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, and lectures. In addition to his long and distinguished medical career as a pioneering gastroenterologist and influential African-American physician, Dr. Berry was active in teaching, writing, and community public service. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
Medical Services and WarfareGlobal coverage with an Anglo-American bias. Documents from 1850 to 1950., including speeches, clinical notes, correspondence, diaries, ephemera, financial records, government documents, hospital records, illustrations, interview transcripts, manuals and text books, maps, medical studies, memoirs, military record, realia, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, books, and statistics. Topics treated include ambulance systems, disability, hospital care, medical developments and equipment, mental health, nursing, personal experience, public health, welfare and reform, rehabilitation services, sanitation, and women at war.
-
Medicine in the Americas, 1610-1920Over 25,000 books and periodicals from the National Library of Medicine.
-
National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome Records (United States)Briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. Materials cover all but the last year of the Commission's existence. The majority of the collection consists of briefing books, and hearing and meeting transcripts of the National Commission. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
National Library of Medicine (United States) Incunabula CollectionOver 150 books from the first fifty years of printing (1440-1500). National Library of Medicine.
-
National Library of Medicine (United States) Unique English Language Imprints, pre-1800Almost 300 books. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
Photographs from the Science Museum1646-1920. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine1850-1912. 2,510 photographs. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900Books, pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, trade cards, catalogs, business records, posters, and ephemera documenting the 19th century trade in popular medical remedies. Sources taken from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Browse the collections by broad thematic areas--General Cures, Health and Hygiene, Sexual Health, Women's Health, Children's Health, Surgery and General Practice, Dentistry, Production and Trade, Satire and Parody, Education and Research, Physiology, Medical Devices, Homeopathy, and Botanic Medicine--or perform keyword searches. No subject index.
-
The Public Health Film Goes To WarWorld War II public health films. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
The Rise of Public Health in England and Wales1805-1900. Over half a million documents used by the British government to formulate public health policy in the 19th century. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Royal College of Physicians ArchivesCorrespondence, administrative papers, medical notes, personal papers, maps, books, and photographs from the archives of the Royal College of Physicians in London,ca. fourteenth through twentieth centuries. Interface offers several text mining visualization features and other archival exploration tools. Collection also maintains original archival order, allowing researchers the experience of conducting archival research in the collection.
-
Shobal Vail Clevenger PapersCorrespondence, photos, articles, notes, memoranda, documents, clippings, and printed matter mostly related to Clevenger's association with the Illinois Eastern Hospital for the Insane. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
Studies in Global Crisis: The International AIDS/HIV Crisis, Part 1: 1985-1999Research studies, reports, and analyses documenting the global response to the HIV/AIDS, ca. 1985-1999. Documents were authored by organizations like United States' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the World Health Organization, the U.S. Agency for International Development, Johns Hopkins University, and the United States' National Institutes of Health. Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.
-
Trade Catalogues and the American HomeOver 5,300 trade catalogs, and about 2,000 additional ephemeral documents, like leaflets, trade cards, price lists, order forms, sales documents, postcards, manuals, correspondence, and more. Documents organized around the following themes: Product Design; Architecture and Interior Design; Business, Economics and Retail History Fashion and Beauty trends; Architecture and Interior Design; Gender and Domesticity; Women’s History and Women as Consumers; Domestic Technologies and the rise of Labour-saving Devices; Transportation; Domestic Life and Leisure; Food and Drink; and Health and Sanitation. 1850 to 1950.
-
Tropical Disease Motion PicturesFilms and videos created between 1920 and 2009. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
Western Medicine in China, 1850-19501937-1979; Burke Chinese Medical Lantern Slides; Chinese Medical Directories; and a run (1919-1923) of the National Medical Journal of China. Also includes a portal to additional document collections.
-
World War I Collection from the National Library of Medicine (United States)Over 700 publications, including unit histories, personal narratives, accounts of relief work, and more. From the National Library of Medicine.
-
World War II Collection from the National Library of Medicine (United States)4,500 government documents (national, state, and municipal). From the National Library of Medicine.
Technology
-
Broadcasting America: The Rise of Mass Media and CommunicationsSelections from the papers of David Sarnoff at the Hagley Museum and Library, as well as published sources like trade catalogues, periodicals, and pamphlets from the University of Maryland's Special Collections and University Archives. This digital collection focuses on Sarnoff's work for RCA, and covers the 1920s through the 1970s, when Sarnoff was a commercial manager and later executive for the company. Sarnoff was influential in developing entertainment and news programming for radio and television, which helped rapidly to popularize the new media. He encouraged RCA to invest in new technologies (such as color TV).
-
Civil EngineeringOver 600 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Color Theory and PracticeAlmost 300 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science and Industry Collection1800-1900. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Electricity and ElectromagnetismOver 1,500 books from the Huntington Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Food and Drink in HistoryVariety of sources, ca. 1514-2010, that document the role of food in world history, with emphasis on North America and Britain. Document types include Cookbooks, menus, advertisements, food labels, pamphlets, ephemera (trading cards, stamps, posters, postcards, scrapbooks (also called "guardbooks" in this collection), marketing reports, business records, maps, photographs, books, periodicals, diaries, correspondence, government documents, realia, episodes of the radio program "Adventures in Gastronomy", and a variety of film footage from Heinz..
-
History of Photography1839-1925. Over 2,200 books and dozens of periodicals documenting the history of the technology of photography. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Jeptha H. Wade Family Papers1771-1957. From the collections of the Western Reserve Historical Society in Cleveland. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
PatentsA guide to databases for locating patent records, with emphasis on the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and the European Union Patent Office (EPO).
-
The Photographic News, 1859-1908Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection1827-1910. 1,690 photographs. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Photographs from the Science Museum1646-1920. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Scientific and Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London’s Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
-
Thomas Edison Papers6 previously-microfilmed collections, Online Online access to 6 previously-microfilmed collections, including 5 modules of the Thomas Edison Papers, 1850-1919; and Motion Picture Catalogs by American Producers and Distributors, 1894-1908.
-
Trade Catalogues and the American HomeOver 5,300 trade catalogs, and about 2,000 additional ephemeral documents, like leaflets, trade cards, price lists, order forms, sales documents, postcards, manuals, correspondence, and more. Documents organized around the following themes: Product Design; Architecture and Interior Design; Business, Economics and Retail History Fashion and Beauty trends; Architecture and Interior Design; Gender and Domesticity; Women’s History and Women as Consumers; Domestic Technologies and the rise of Labour-saving Devices; Transportation; Domestic Life and Leisure; Food and Drink; and Health and Sanitation. 1850 to 1950.