Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
Patents & Government Documents
This section provides comprehensive resources for researching patents and government documents, with a focus on computer science and engineering. The resources below include both online and print options, ensuring broad access for students, researchers, and faculty.
Online Government Document Resources
-
NSA – National Security AgencyHome to America's codemakers and codebreakers. Includes access to select technical documents related to cybersecurity and cryptography.
-
NSA Technology Transfer Program (TTP)For accessing NSA-developed technology and related research documents transferred to industry and academia.
-
NSA Capability PackagesProduct-neutral manuals and guidance documents for secure implementation of solutions, downloadable from this page.
-
NSA Cryptographic Support ServicesAccess to cryptographic key services and related materials, with some gated content.
-
DTIC – Defense Technical Information CenterProvides access to research and engineering information for the U.S. Department of Defense. The site includes the R&E Gateway (for DoD personnel, contractors, and select academic institutions; CAC login or registration required) and a Public Access portal with many unclassified documents available to all users.
-
Grainger Engineering Library’s List of Government PublicationsA curated list of U.S. government documents available online, covering a range of topics in science and technology.
-
(NTRS) – NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)Publicly available content - millions of technical reports, conference papers, journal articles, and other NASA documents, freely searchable by anyone.
-
OSHA – Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationPublications include workplace safety standards and technical documentation. Most resources are available in accessible HTML or downloadable PDF formats.
-
TRAIL – Technical Report Archive & Image LibraryA digital archive of U.S. federal agency technical reports primarily from before 1975. Includes scanned, searchable documents digitized by libraries and the TRAIL Working Group.
Print Government Document Resources
University Library print and microfiche collections of Government Documents.
-
Government Information Services LibraryThe reference collection is located on the second floor of the Main Library Building, southeast corner of the Reading Room (Room 200 Main Library).
-
Grainger Engineering Library – Government Publications, Indexes, and AbstractsIncludes selected indexes and abstracts of government publications in science and technology, along with descriptions of significant holdings.
Patent Search Databases
-
Engineering Village Patent IndexSearch patents from the U.S. and European patent offices alongside engineering journal and conference content.
-
European Patent Office – EspacenetFree access to over 70 million patents worldwide, including full text of published European patents.
-
Google Patent SearchSearch over seven million U.S. patents and international patent documents.
-
USPTO - U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeAccess to the full suite of U.S. patent databases, including full-text and image records and application tracking.
-
WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization PATENTSCOPESearch more than ten million patent documents, including over two million published international applications (PCT).