This bibliography, created by Christine Worobec and Melissa Stockdale, highlights key resources that may be of interest to scholars. This is not a comprehensive guide, but rather has been currated to contain items of specific interest to attendees of the workshop.
Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online: Collection of more than 4,700 digitised publications from continental Europe, the U.S., UK, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. Allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Consists of: the periodical series and the monograph language series.
Historical Abstracts: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
MLA International Bibliography: Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920’s and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Women and Social Movements, International: Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Clements, Barbara Evans, Rebecca Friedman, and Dan Healey, eds. Russian Masculinities in History and Culture. Houndmills, UK: Palgrave, 2002.
Healey, Dan. Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia: The Regulation of Sexual and Gender Dissent. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001.
Healey, Dan. "Love and Death: Transforming Sexualities in Russia, 1914-22." In Russian Culture in War and Revolution, 1914-22, Book 2: Political Culture, Identities, Mentalities, and Memory. Ed. by Murray Frame, Boris Kolonitskii, Steven G. Marks, and Melissa K. Stockdale, 151-78. Bloomington, Indiana: Slavica Publishers, 2014.
Ilic, Melanie, ed. The Palgrave Handbook of Women and Gender in Twentieth-Century Russia and the Soviet Union. London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017.
Kowalsky, Sharon. “Transforming Society: Criminologists, Violence, and Family in War and Revolution.” In Russia’s Home Front in War and Revolution, 1914-22, Book 2: The Experience of War and Revolution. Ed. by Adele Lindenmeyr, Christopher Read, and Peter Waldron, 343-63. Bloomington, Indiana: Slavica Publishers, 2016.
Muravyeva, Marianna, and Natalia Novikova, eds. Women's History in Russia: (Re)Establishing the Field. Newcastle upon Tyne, UK: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014.
Norton, Barbara T., and Jehanne M. Gheith, eds. An Improper Profession: Women, Gender, and Journalism in Late Imperial Russia (Chapel Hill: Duke University Press, 2001).
Petrone, Karen. The Great War in Russian Memory. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2011.
Alon Rachamimov, "The Disruptive Comforts of Drag: (Trans)Gender Performances among Prisoners of War in Russia, 1914-1920." American Historical Review 111, no. 2 (1 April 2006): 362-82.
Ruane, Christine. The Empire's New Clothes: A History of the Russian Fashion Industry, 1700-1917. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2009.
Ruane, Christine. "The Kitchen Gardening Campaign in World War I Russia." In Russia’s Home Front in War and Revolution, 1914-22, Book 2: The Experience of War and Revolution. Ed. by Adele Lindenmeyr, Christopher Read, and Peter Waldron, 365-86. Bloomington, Indiana: Slavica Publishers, 2016.
Ruthchild, Rochelle. Equality and Revolution: Women's Rights in the Russian Empire, 1905-1917 (Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2010 .
Saarinen, Aino, Kirsti Ekonen, and Valentina Uspenskaia, eds. Women and Transformation in Russia. Abingdon, UK: Routledge, 2014.
Stoff, Laurie S. Russia's Sisters of Mercy and the Great War: More than Binding Men's Wounds. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 2015.
Zirin, Mary, Christine Worobec, Irina Livezeanu, and June Pachuta-Farris, comp. Women and Gender in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia: A Comprehensive Bibliography. 2 vols. Armonk, NY: M. E. Sharpe, 2007).
June Pachuta Farris's running bibliographies for AWSS's newsletter Women East-West continue the work of the AWSS-sponsored Women and Gender in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia.
Gorbunov, Iu. A "Pisatel'nitsy Rossii: Materialy dlia biobibliograficheskogo slovaria."
Iukina, Igorevna Irina. Istoriia zhenshchin Rossii: Zhenskoe dvizhenie i feminizm v 1850-1920-e gody: Materialy k bibliografii. St. Petersburg: Aleteiia, 2003.
Ledkovsky, Marina, Charlotte Rosenthal, and Mary Zirin, eds. Dictionary of Russian Women Writers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Zirin, Mary. "Bibliography of Pre-Revolutionary Writings by Women." Fully searchable.
Europeana 1914-1918: Stories and Official Histories of World War I Across Europe, including Russia
Pervaia mirovaia voina i russkaia literatura: Politika i poetika: istoriko-kul'turnyi kontekst: A project of the Gorkii Institute of World Literature.
Zhenskoe di︠e︡lo : ezhemi︠e︡si︠a︡chnyĭ literaturnyĭ zhurnal.
Zhenskiĭ vi︠e︡stnik
Soi︠u︡z zhenshchin : zhurnal, posvi︠a︡shchennyĭ voprosam, svi︠a︡zannym s borʹboĭ za ravnopravīe zhenshchin i, glavnym obrazom, za ee izbiratelʹnye prava.
Zhenskai︠a︡ myslʹ : dvukhnedi︠e︡lʹnyĭ khudozhestvenno-literaturnyĭ zhurnal, posvi︠a︡shchennyĭ ravnopravīi︠u︡ i uluchshenīi︠u︡ ėkonomicheskago polozhenīi︠a︡ zhenshchin.
Zhurnal dli︠a︡ khozi︠a︡ek
Rabotnit︠s︡a
Zhurnal dli︠a︡ zhenshchin
Zhenshchina: ezhenedi︠e︡lʹnyĭ literaturno-khudozhestvennyĭ zhurnal.
Mīr zhenshchiny : zhurnal izi︠a︡shchnoĭ literatury, obshchestvennoĭ zhizni, obshchepoleznykh znanīi, prikladnogo iskusstva, novi︠e︡ĭshikh i prakticheskikh modi rukodi︠e︡līĭ.
Zhenskai︠a︡ zhiznʹ: Ezhened. gaz.
Digitized Journals in the Russian National Library:
http://leb.nlr.ru/collections/70/
Electronic Journals Library: Slavonic Studies (University of Regensburg)
http://rzblx1.uni-regensburg.de/ezeit/fl.phtml?bibid=AAAAA&colors=7&lang=en¬ation=K
Digitized Newspapers in the Russian National Library
Eparkhial'nye vedomosti: A search and find by title will bring up complete press runs. This site is easier to navigate than the Russian National Library site. It is also a treasure trove of biographical materials on clerics and ecclesiastics in late Imperial Russia.
http://leb.nlr.ru/collections/89/
Gazetnye starosti: Digitized Russian Newspapers at the beginning of the twentieth century
Izvestiia Digital Archive: Full-text of Izvestiia in PDF format, from 1917 to the present.
Pravda Digital Archive: Full-text of the entire run of Pravda in PDF format, from 1912 to the present.