Newspaper Databases and Aggregators
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Keesing's World News Archives This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch all 51 ProQuest Historical Newspaper titles owned by the University of Illinois, representing 19 U.S. states and the District of Columbia, as well as titles from Canada, the UK, and India. Coverage spans the 18th century to the 2020s and includes important publications like the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Globe and Mail, and Chicago Tribune.
Links to Current and Historical Newspapers
These guides have been created by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library.
Online News Resources
- Al-JazeeraNews from the Arab World in English
- Asia TimesEnglish-language newspaper from Hong Kong focused on Asia
- BBCUK News
- Le Monde diplomatiqueNews from France in English
- The Moscow TimesIndependent news from Russia in English
- The Times of IndiaNews from India in English
- Zona LatinaA list of Latin American newspapers
Political News and Voting Information
- The HillCovers Congress and the influence of congressional leaders, the administration, and lobbyists.
- Roll CallCQ Roll Call is the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation
- Foreign AffairsCouncil on Foreign Relations
- CQ Voting and Elections This link opens in a new windowIntegrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
Subject Guide
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801