Resources on Issues - Model Congress - Schoeplein - LibGuides at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

What you'll find on this page

This page contains general online databases and newspaper resources. It is for general research not necessarily specific to Congress or legislation. This is a good place to build background knowledge, research your issues and learn about them in context, or learn about different politicians more broadly. Lastly, if you're interested in acquiring books, there are links to the catalog on the right. It would be wise to do this as one of your first steps as some books might take a few days to arrive (and books are not required for this project).

[Reminder: Library Catalog is for local UIUC resources, I-Share is a state-wide system and is used if UIUC resources don't have what you need, and WorldCat is for when both the local catalog and I-Share don't have what you need. I-Share and WorldCat resources take a day or two more to arrive.]

Online Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles. STARTING HINT: The front page along the right has an excellent list of topics that start with abortion and end in the U.S. economy
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers. STARTING HINT: The front page has subject links. If you click on "social science" and then expand the drop down menu on the left, you will find topics like "contemporary issues & controversies," "criminology & law," "ethnic studies," "political science," and "sociology."
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: MAS Complete in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. It also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Alternate Access Link

Think Tank List (curated by Ms. Schoeplein!)
A google doc containing a list of think tanks that Ms. Schoeplein has specifically chosen.

Newspaper & Current Events

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. STARTING HINT: Use this to research a topic by LOCATION or REGION; this requires you to click on the continent and then the country; continue to narrow if you want a more specific city, region, or county. A good idea would be to look for news in a country that has legislation you'd like to pass (i.e. universal health care in Canada) or conditions you'd like to emulate (i.e. very little gun violence in Japan).

The Learning Network (from the New York Times)
New York Times website for students and teachers with student-friendly resources and student opinions. Helpful to use in searching for more complicated issues. STARTING HINT: Use this to find information on your topic that is accessible and geared toward a high school audience. If you want to search for your topic here, do NOT use the search at the top left-hand corner as that will search the whole NYTimes; scroll down to the middle of the page and use the search window next to where it says "LATEST" and select articles that say THE LEARNING NETWORK above the article title.

Finding Books Online

Library Catalog (Primo)
Searches in our local (University of Illinois) catalog.
I-Share Catalog
I-Share includes the resources of 86 Illinois libraries belonging to CARLI.

Some books you might search for include How Congress Works or American Congressional Dictionary.

WorldCat
Searches for items in libraries across the world.

Model Congress - Schoeplein: Resources on Issues

What you'll find on this page

Online Databases

Newspaper & Current Events

Finding Books Online