Databases
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- MEDLINE - Ovid This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is the world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. It contains nearly eleven million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present. Subjects covered include all aspects of clinical medicine (diseases and disorders, diagnostic and therapeutic techniques and equipment), basic biomedical sciences (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, etc.), the health care system (facilities, manpower, services, administration), dentistry, nursing, and clinical psychology. MEDLINE may be used to find information on diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prevention of diseases and disorders; on research in basic science fields relating to medicine; and on biomedical technology and its applications.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: CINAHL in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for most of the indexed journals are also included. Full text material includes many journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Also available in Spanish.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
Instruction
Library Resources and Systematic Literature Search
PowerPoints from Behavioral Sciences Librarian Yali Feng's presentation
- Search Template
This excel document contains a literature search template developed by Psychology Librarian Yali Feng
- Search Strategy Document Template
Contains templates for documenting your search methods, databases, and queries.
- Search Strategy Document Sample
Contains sample documentation for tracking your search strategies.
- Database Syntax Guide
This table provides a guide to syntax for searches on 6 databases: Business Source Complete, ABI/Inform, APA PsycInfo, Medline, Web of Science Core Collection, and Scopus.
Created by Zahra Premji, Health Research Librarian, University of Victoria. Last updated Nov. 12, 2021. - Search Operator Guide
This guide provides information about search operators on the following databases: PubMed, Ovid databases, Cochrane, CINAHL, Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.
- AWIC Database Cheat Sheet
This cheat sheet provides a quick reference guide to using search operators on PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, EBSCO, and ProQuest.. Last revised 12/30/22.
Our Library has a guide on Citation Managers, which provides overview of Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote citation management programs.
Using the Library
- Using the LibraryThe Library's Using the Library guide explains how to use the library, check out and return books, use library technology, and more.
- Using the Library CatalogThe Library's Using the Library Catalog guide explains how to use the Library Catalog, including how to log into your library account.
- SSHEL's websiteNavigate to the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library's main website.
- Resources in PsychologySSHEL's Resources in Psychology page includes links to databases & journals, other psychology research guides, useful websites, and additional library and campus resources.