Database Matrix
Database Matrix
Sometimes it's challenging to choose a right database to start your search among so many available resources, and it's often hard to remember all features for various databases. This chart includes BIS subscribed key databases and their various features such as company overview, industry analysis, and market research reports, etc. Click on the database name to directly go to the database. You will need your NetID and password to login.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Company Overview | International Companies | Private Companies | Company Financial | Bond Information | Ratios | Investment Analysis | Industry Analysis | Country Reports | Articles/ News | Market Research Reports | SWOT Analysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCC Research | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||||
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Emerging Markets Information Service | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Hoover's | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||||
| IBISWorld | ✔ IBISWorld international includes companies in China only | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||||
| Refintiv Workspace: (NOTE: very limited seating- one account per team |
✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Nexis Uni | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| Technavio | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||||
| PrivCo | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||
| ProQuest One Business | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ |
Easy Search for Business Articles
For simple searching, you can try Business- Easy Search. This is a good place to start when you aren't certain where to go first. Type your phrase in the box, enclosed by parentheses, eg "Corporate Sustainability Reporting". It searches 4 of the major business-related literature databases for your convenience: Proquest One Business, Business Source Complete, Scopus, and Academic Search Complete". If you want to get more specific, using subject fields, the directions are below for ProQuest One Business, EBSCO Business Source Complete, and LexisNexis Academic Universe.
BIS also has Best Bets, a database of frequently asked questions on a topic level. You can search the entire database or click on one of the areas of finance, accounting, economics, labor, companies, industries, etc. and look at the lists of questions. NOTE: This is not the place to do a company search on a specific company. Instead, it is a tool which will lead you to sources on how to find information on companies or industries.
EBSCO Business Source Ultimate
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAccess this resource through the link under Key Databases on the left side of the BIS homepage or directly through the link above.
This is a comprehesive database of academic journals, book/monograph abstracts, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, magazines, market research reports, newspapers, product reviews, SWOT analyses, trade publications, and videos. To search for a topic, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab. Enter a keyword, such as strategy or employment, into the Find box and hit the Search button.
Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides full text and summaries of articles from over 40,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, trade journals, etc., in addition to allowing you to generate lists of companies using criteria that you select.
Articles are available for download, email, print or can be sent directly to Google Docs in a variety of formats including pdf, docx and xlsx.
In order to download articles, make sure to enable pop-ups for advance.lexis.com.
Click All Content Types. In the drop-down menu, click Companies.
Click Company Profile.
You are now searching company profiles.
ProQuest One Business
Access this resource directly through the UIUC proxy link above.
This is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, reports, dissertations, and working papers. To get database help, click here and then click on various links in the left-hand navigation column such as 'Basic Search' or 'Advanced Search: Database Specific.'
For example, to search for industry statistics and reports: Search for an industry name as a subject or enter/look up NAICS code; choose "statistics/data report" as "document type"; click search.
