Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies Summer Workshops 2018: Human Rights Resources

Guide to resources in Global Health and Human Rights

Human Rights Organizations - Directories

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Genocide - Choice Review - "...Although it gives heavy coverage to the Nazi Holocaust, the encyclopedia addresses numerous other instances of genocide. Moreover, its effort to examine the subject through the lens of numerous subtopics--e.g., definition; denial; art, literature, and film; the psychology of perpetrators and victims; detection, investigation, and prevention--creatively enriches the experience of readers. Imaginatively conceived, the encyclopedia is the handiwork of almost 100 scholars who represent a rich array of scholarly opinion.

Encylopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity - Summary description - The Encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity. It also delves into depictions and manifestations of the phenomenon, such as propaganda, sociological and philosophical explanations, literature and film. 

The Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology - Summary description - Although not specifically related to human rights violations, contains almost 300 entries contributed by leading international scholars focusing exclusively on psychological analyses and perspectives on peace and conflict. 

Encyclopedia of Political Science - Summary description - The encyclopedia of political science comprehensively examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. Explore wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. Utilize a thematic table of contents that maps major subfields and topics in politics. 

More Reference Books are available on the topic in the Social Science, Health and Education Library on the northeast side of the Main Library, Room 100.

 

Essential Resources

Universal Declaration of Human Rights

International Committee of the Red Cross     

•Treaties and States Party to Such Treaties –   http://www.icrc.org/ihl

•International Humanitarian Customary Laws - http://www.icrc.org/customary-ihl/eng/docs/home

Additional Resources from the Government Documents Collection

Organizations and Bodies

Human Rights Treaty Bodies

Each of the following UN committees monitors compliance with one or two major human rights conventions. The documents of each committee are available on the Treaty Body Database.  

Charter-based Bodies

The Commission on Human Rights and the Sub-commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights publish some of the most authoritative country reports found on the Internet. The documents of these two bodies--as well as human rights documents issued by the General Assembly, the ECOSOC, and the Security Council--are available on the Charter-based Bodies Database.

Related Bodies

Human Rights Courts and Tribunals

NGOs

  • Amnesty International (UK)   
    AI's authoritative reports on countries and major human rights issues, as well as links to Web sites in nineteen categories, can be accessed through its Library.
  • Human Rights Internet  
    Serves the information needs of scholars and human rights advocates through its extensive Documentation Centre.
  • Human Rights Watch    
    Includes authoritative reports on a wide range of human rights issues.

Databases

  • Inter-American Human Rights Database  
  • Contains documents on cases brought before the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection  
    This online database provides the most detailed information on the status of major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea.

Annual Reports

Guides

Documentation